Hello Rad Blog

 

 

Kind of doing this one out of order, but I felt like posting it so I can just get it done. We’re covering Alani Nu’s Juicy Peach flavor.

 

I was given this drink by a friend at work! It came in clutch since I had it on a day I worked a double.

 

We’ve covered a few Alani Nu beverages before, with one being pretty okay and one being kind of bad. I think my main gripe was how it didn’t balance the sucralose flavoring which is sometimes a problem with these 0 sugar drinks. They always have this off-tasting sweetness to them. I know that’s the point. It doesn’t have sugar or high fructose corn syrup, but the sucralose flavoring doesn’t mesh well with the medicinal taste of energy drink vitamins.

 

That said, I have some hope for this juicy peach flavor. I’ve had a few peach flavored things in my drink reaction journey and they are typically pretty good. Maybe the juicy flavor will mask the sucralose flavor. Well, I already know the answer to this so check down in a few paragraphs.

 

I got lazy and just took pictures of the nutrition facts and ingredients. I think my plan was to live blog this, but I ended up just taking notes.

 

The light blue text on the light blue background kind of sucks to be honest. I hate when fonts are so hard to read.

 

In any case, it is your typical 0 sugar drink, though it does have 10 calories. Alani Nu also has sugar alcohol which is somehow different than sugar. Still, it provides a bit of a sweet taste. Other than that, it has your typical B Vitamins and other energy stuff like guarana seed and ginseng.  It had 200mg of caffeine.

 

So I poured this into a cup. It was a clear liquid since these zero drinks typically try to avoid coloring too. It didn’t have much of a scent from a few feet away. Up close it had a faint peach smell to it. It was as if someone had sprayed themselves with a peach scented body spray in the morning and you can still sort of smell it by 3 PM.Thankfully, the scent is pretty authentic actually. It wasn’t really sitting in the whole manufactured and fake peach scent department.

 

Tasting was pretty okay. The peach flavoring doesn’t follow the scent profile. It’s quite uncanny valley where it tastes so fake that it is almost real or vice versa. Again, the sucralose flavoring is very powerful here. The peach flavoring did not hold it back good enough. The opening is probably the best part since that’s where you get the most peach flavoring. After the sucralose flavoring, it turns into a very fake peach flavor. At least I get a second wind of peach here, though this time it is not nearly as good as the opening. The aftertaste is more sucralose flavoring.

 

That seems to be some sort of crux for Alani Nu. No matter the flavor, I always get hit with sucralose flavoring and I’m not the only one who hates that. My positive take on this is that it isn’t as bad as the other flavors I’ve had. I’d say this is the best of the three, but it still isn’t that great. There’s so many zero sugar energy drinks now that I don’t know why I’d pick one by Alani Nu over them. Maybe the can is interesting to you? It sure isn’t the flavor for me.

 

I’m giving this a double play but you’re the batting team out of Rad.