Rad Blog!

 

What took so long for this one? I, uh, really don’t know actually. See, one thing lead to another and I just kind of let this one fall by the wayside. I’m sorry if you were waiting for this one. Here it is now.

 

I guess another reason why I held off on this one is because I have a feeling it is going to be pretty good. All of the other 1893 sodas were pretty great. I’ve since bought the original and black currant one again to drink casually. I just wish there was a bigger bottle for them so I don’t have to buy them 1 can at a time. Oh well.

 

That’s besides the point! This is all about the Citrus Cola we have here. I really thought this was just going to be a classier orange soda, but no. This is actually cola that has a citrus twist to it. Reading the front of the can it says “premium cola infused with grapefruit essence.”

 

Grapefruit!? Dear Pepsi, count me in! Chas loves some grapefruit. I actually didn’t notice this was grapefruit until just now actually which is pretty sad since I’ve had this can for a little while. I honestly thought it said “orange” at first. I don’t know why my mind went to that. Maybe it is because the can is orange. I guess it makes sense since grapefruits have that orange peel to it, but inside is pink. That’s what I think of when I think “grapefruit.”

 

 

I’m trying to picture what a grapefruit cola will taste like and it is hurting my mind. It just doesn’t sound like it should work. Take a bottle of Pepsi and then some Ruby Red juice and mix it together. It just doesn’t sound good to me. Grapefruit is tart and cola is very earthy or nutty in taste. When they did it with black currant, that sort of works because currants have a sort of earthy taste. Two earthy works. Citrus and earthy? I don’t know, man.

 

The side of the can lists a few of the things in this by stating “boldly blended cola made with: kola nut extract, grapefruit essence, sparkling water, real sugar.”

 

What is this “grapefruit essence?” It makes it sound like a witch’s brew or something. Ah yes, we’ll add the toadstool juice and add a hint of frog’s breath with essence of grapefruit. Ah! My potion!

 

It just sounds silly to me like they used like mystical ways to get this drink to taste like grapefruit. They called upon the great Imhotep to replicate a real grapefruit taste in this cola.

 

 

Well, might as well jump into the nutrition facts and ingredients.

 

Serving size is 1 can.

 

150 calories. 0g total fat. 55mg sodium. 39g total carbs. 39g sugars. 0g protein.

 

Ingredients!

 

Carbonated water, sugar, caramel color, natural flavor, phosphoric acid, sodium citrate, potassium sorbate, caffeine, gum arabic, kola nut extract.

 

So, uh, I guess that’s what they meant by essence. This has no grapefruit juice or extract in this which deeply saddens me. All of the other 1893 sodas had their represented tastes in it and not solely by the stupid “natural flavor.” No. Only this one does. What gives, Pepsi? Grapefruits are like 88 cents each. With your name and ability to bulk buy, I’m sure it would be even cheaper. I’m slightly disappointed. Did you let the Mountain Dew crew handle this one?

 

 

Well, let’s get to tasting this.

 

This is…odd. I poured it and it looks like Pepsi, but it smells like Orange Crush. It is so strange to experience that. If I was blindfolded and was asked to smell this, I would think it was orange soda or something. Will it be the look or the smell that’s deceiving?

 

Taste time!

 

Hmm. Hmm. Hmm!

 

This is actually kind of nice. A little odd, but I can dig it actually.

 

At first sip, it is a sweet cola flavour. It tastes like the high quality Pepsi flavour that you’d taste in the original 1893. Then it transitions into a sweeter taste like the flavouring is going to kick in, but it doesn’t yet make up its mind on what it wants to be yet. Then the cola taste kind of fades and the citrus taste comes in, but it doesn’t have a tart punch to it. The citrus taste is more of a sweet nectar taste to it than anything. Then the cola taste comes back and lingers as a sort of surrounding taste. Like it sort of makes a nice sweet shell around this potential tartness of the citrus flavour. Would I call the citrus flavour “grapefruit?” Not really. I will say that there’s a hint of grapefruit in it, but I taste mostly orange and maybe lime. The aftertaste is where the grapefruit flavour makes its mark the most. If you were searching for grapefruit in the taste, this is where you’d find it.

 

I like my grapefruit without sugar. When I get a half, I eat it without a sprinkle of sugar on it. That’s what my ma used to do to hers. This is what this soda tastes like in the end. It tastes like a grapefruit with a sprinkle sugar on it. I guess that takes away the tartness of the citrus, but I miss that.

 

Does it work? Yeah, to me it does. It is a bit odd, but I like this taste. I think it is going to be the whole “Lime Cucumber” wave that’s happened recently. A lot of people love it, but a lot don’t. I see the same fate for this drink. It is like sweet and tart mixed into one which works with some candies, but a soda? It is niche.

 

I’m gonna give it a Dreamcast out of Rad.

 

Go ahead and try this. Try all the 1893s actually. They were all surprisingly pretty good. Even if this one doesn’t have actual grapefruit in it, it is still pretty good at the end of the day.

