Hiya Rad Blog.

 

Now, normally I don’t do Gatorade since there’s not much to them but flavouring, salt, and water, but this was requested by my brother. He asked me to write about this one because he said there’s something special about the taste.

 

I gotta say, first off this line is called Flow Smooth Finish. Gods, that a long name that doesn’t really roll off the tongue. Maybe it isn’t called that at all. Maybe this is called Gatorade Flow: Smooth Finish rather than me just running it all together. Whatever it is, it’s long and probably unnecessary. I remember when Gatorade was sort of changing their image and had the G series where G1 was for before working out or a sport, G2 was during the game or working out, and G3 was for the recovery period. I guess they stopped that? I don’t know because I don’t see it in the store any more. I guess what most people drink is the G2 version. I would think G3 is probably better for someone that is drinking Gatorade for the sake of drinking it.

 

Anyway, Gatorade is good for replenishing stuff lost during sweat or something like that. I don’t know because I don’t really play sports or do physical activities like working out any more. When I did, I just drank water. Adam Sandler would be proud.

 

Another thing that confuses me is that brief description that’s right under the flavour. “Naturally flavored with other natural flavors?” What in the world is that supposed to mean? Why not just write “Natural flavored thirst quencher” or whatever. “Naturally flavored with other natural flavors” is just redundant to me. I guess what they are saying is this is gonna have natural blackberry flavour with other stuff that’s also naturally flavoured. Okay then. Sure, that’s like every other commercial drink out there. This is just a long-winded way to say that.

 

Maybe I should have figured that out by the already long name they gave this drink.

 

None of that actually matters because the taste is what’s important. They could have called this “Drive to work only to find out they closed before you got there on Sunday” special and if it tasted good I wouldn’t mind the crazy name. Also, I can nitpick this drink all day, but I won’t. It is just fun for me.

 

So, what else does this bottle say? It’s quite large if I do say so, so I bet there’s probably at least 2 servings in this.

 

Not much really. The blue label is cool and they left that lightning bolt clear so it is coloured by the drink’s colour. You can see in this picture it’s a dark red. That’s almost the same colour as the Venom I had the other day. The only other excerpt on this I see says “proven hydration with electrolytes.” Isn’t that what all Gatorade says? I don’t know.

 

Anyway, what’s in this thing.

 

Nutrition facts!

No fruit juice. Great. We’ll be getting the natural flavouring from this and hope to High Hrothgar that this has actual blackberry extract or something.

 

2.5 servings per container. I was close.

 

80 calories. 0g total fat. 160mg sodium. 45mg potassium. 21g total carbs. 21g sugars. 0g protein.

 

Fairly sweetened and light in calories. Okay then.

 

Ingredients!

Water, sugar, dextrose, citric acid, natural flavor, sodium citrate, salt, monopotassium phosphate, phosphoric acid, red 40.

 

RED 40 CHAS RAD APPROVED! KIDS OFF THE WALLS!

 

Maybe the hyperness of the Red 40 will actually help in little Jo-Jo’s baseball game. Give him more pep and zing.

 

Well, let’s get to drinking this. This is all riding on you, brother.

 

Hmm. Hmm. Huh.

 

At first sip, it is just really watery. In fact, that’s pretty much all I taste for a while. I don’t taste much sweetness at all in the first few seconds of drinking this. I wait a bit longer before calling this a glorified water, but then some flavour actually hits near the end. It sort of tastes like what happens when you drink a melted Popsicle actually. I can taste a very watered down fruity flavour. I would call it a berry taste for sure. It isn’t a generic fruity taste at all. Blackberry? Yeah, I can say it does emulate a blackberry in taste, albeit very watered down. The end flavour along with the blackberry taste has a sort of tingle to it? It isn’t very strong at all, but it leaves a sort of massage feeling on my tongue? It’s odd, but kind of pleasing. There’s not much of an aftertaste in this either. It’s just kind of sweet, but not overly. I think it’s mostly from a fruity sense of the word “sweetness” rather than sugary.

 

Overall, this isn’t world shattering in taste for me. It’s kind of nice I suppose for someone who doesn’t want anything overly sweet. No wonder why my brother likes it then. Would I pick this if I was in a sports game? Probably not. If there’s nothing much else to it, I’d only pick it up if it was in a cooler full of Gatorade, and even that would be unintentional. For the price, though, this is nice. I think I got this for 80 cents on sale. Not bad for that large of a drink.

 

I’ll give this a heads up penny on the sidewalk out of Rad. It’s nice, but it doesn’t really do anything for me.

 

 

 

