Rad Blog!

 

Oh no. They released yet another new Kickstart and being the progressive Chas that I am, I bought it to write about it here.

 

As you may know by now, I have yet to find a Kickstart that I actually like, let alone can tolerate. I have more hopes for this one since the flavour pair sounds actually pretty good. Mango and lime? Awesome! It sounds perfect for a hot summer day. It is currently a hot spring day here, but I’ll take it. I’m not waiting until June to write about this drink so let’s hop to it.

 

At first glance, I thought I may have already tried this one. The yellow can looks so familiar, but Kickstart has yet to really use a yellow can. I mean, they have with the Pineapple Orange Mango in coconut water thing, but that had a white gradient. No, this is a solid yellowish orange like the original two drinks and then the Midnight Grape one after the coconut bit. It doesn’t look bad I guess. It just looks familiar is all. I feel like they used this colour on something else. I just can’t put my finger on it.

 

Anyway, you know it is new because it says “NEW” right above the flavour. Sure, I mean maybe this WAS new at one point but it has been sitting on the shelf forever. I don’t think that’s the case. I actually think this is new.

 

From the top of the can, you can see this is sticking with the theme of 5% to 10% juice in these drinks. I think Kickstart’s goal was to come off as a energy juice with a taste of Mountain Dew for people who want an alternative to coffee in the morning. I think that idea got scrapped because all the commercials for Kickstart today consist of some dude drinking a bit and dancing to some drop in an electro song and then the entire room starts to dance too like the animal head busts or some aquarium toy thing of a diver. I think it is just for chilling now which is odd considering the name of this was “Kickstart” in the fact that you wanna get up and go. I guess that’s the point of the commercials because everyone seems to be on a couch and then they get up and dance.

 

I guess the idea of trying to get people off coffee in the morning was a losing battle. Beats me. I’m not marketing major or expert. I just taste the drinks and I think all of them so far have been pretty bad. If I had to choose between coffee and all of the Kickstarts I’ve tried before this one, I’d pick coffee every time.

 

So, Kickstart, this is it. This is the one that’s gonna convince me that not all of them are bad. Come on! I know you can do it! Maybe. Possibly. Actually, Dew drinks have a pretty ehh track record for me. Kickstart’s always been a miss and Black Label and Dew Shine were just okay.

 

So, is Mango Lime gonna be on the Orange Kickstart spectrum or is it gonna be on the Baja Blast spectrum. Please be Baja Blast. Heck, if you insist on making more flavoured Kickstarts, go try a Baja Blast one. People love that drink. That tips free by the way, Pepsi. Try it. I think it could work.

 

Enough! I’m so off track that I’m missing the point. Mango and lime sound like a pretty awesome combo. The Limeade one was passable in terms of Kickstart and the Pineapple Orange Mango was okay too. Put the two most okay Kickstarts together? I think it might actually do well.

 

Let’s look at the ingredients and nutrition facts.

 

I’ve already talked about the silly KICK  on the front. There’s not much more unique about this can that I haven’t said in other posts. This is part of the original line of Kickstarts so no coconut water or whatever else they tried with Blood Orange.

 

As I’ve said, there’s 5% juice in this.

 

Serving size is 1 can.

 

80 calories. 0g total fat. 180mg sodium. 21g total carbs. 20g sugars. 0g protein. 100% Vitamin C. 80% Niacin. 80% Vitamin B6. 60% Pantothenic Acid.

 

So, basically it is a light energy drink with B Vitamins as the kicker. Something like Monster would see a big ol 150% in the B Vitamins category, but this is lighter with only 80%. That’s still really high mind you, but compared to other energy drinks, it isn’t that high.

 

Ingredients!

 

Carbonated water, high fructose corn syrup, white grape juice concentrate, concentrated orange juice, citric acid, natural and artificial flavor, sodium hexametaphosphate, gum arabic, potassium sorbate, ascorbic acid, caffeine, sodium citrate, acesulfame potassium, sucralose, glycerol ester of rosin, sodium benzoate, niacinamide, calcium disodium edta, sucrose, acetate isobutyrate, yellow 6, calcium pantothenate, yellow 5, pyridoxine hydrochloride.

 

You know what? Why did I even get my hopes up for this? White grape juice? Orange juice?! Nothing about mango or limes. What the heck!? Okay, I get the white grape juice. It’s whatever. I’m used to it by know with all the other antics in Kickstart, but why orange juice? What was wrong with lime juice? Is it too much to ask for a drop of juice of the flavour that’s advertised on the can?

 

Well, I just gotta keep my hopes up that the fish oils and petroleum they use in the natural and artificial flavours makes it taste like mango. I don’t know if they actually use that, but with ambiguous wording like that who can blame me for assuming that?

 

Time to open this…thing.

 

This is very…orange. I mean, I guess I was expecting a more yellow drink, but this is like almost the same hue as orange soda. It smells like orange juice actually. Would I say there’s a hint of lime or mango? Maybe mango, but absolutely not lime. They should have just called this orange and mango, but no. They did that before plus pineapple. Can’t rehash that again I suppose. Might be good without that coconut flavour.

 

Taste time!

 

Hmm. Hmm. Huh. Errg.

 

At first sip, it is mostly just a nice fizzy taste that has a sort of sweetness to it. It reminds me a little like a lightly sweetened soda. Then the fruit flavour comes in and it is orange. I taste just orange. At this point it is almost like an orange soda and I was almost pleasantly surprised. It took the sweetness of soda, but that thick consistency you’d get from orange juice and it was nice…for a moment. After the nice sweet juicy taste, the terrible sucralose and B Vitamin taste comes storming in like raiders to a castle. Man, this sucralose and medicine taste combo is bad. The worst part is that it lingers until well after my second sip. It just sits there and ruins the nice juicy sweetness from the orange beforehand. I guess maybe I taste a little mango in this. Saying that at all is being extremely generous because this really is the orange juice show here.

 

You think I forgot lime? No. I didn’t. I’m still looking for a lime taste and I got absolutely nothing at all.

 

I think this may be the worst Kickstart yet. First off, the taste just isn’t great. There’s too many bads that outweigh that one good moment in the middle of my first sip. Second, this doesn’t even taste like what’s advertised on the can.

 

I’m giving this a Car Shop Heist out of Rad. It is that freaking bad. Stay away from this one. If you gotta get a Kickstart for a mango taste, go with the coconut water version. It is better.

