20161228_140141

 

Rad Blog!

 

Before I begin, I gotta mention two things.

 

First, The Rad Blog hit 20,000 views this year! Thanks for reading people. It is really cool seeing so many people come to the Rad Blog for the Drink Reaction posts. I enjoy writing them and I just hope people enjoy reading em.

 

Second, WordPress changed its way to get to the old dashboard so that means I might end up losing it. Thankfully, I have it saved so I can still use the normal, easier post editor. I refuse to use their wide mobile “friendly” writer. Nope.

 

Anyway, we have an Arnold Palmer drink here, but it isn’t the old run-of-the-mill one! No! This is an Arnold Palmer energy drink. I found it interesting that AriZona made one of these, but I’ll happily try it.

 

The can looks pretty standard for AriZona’s newer drinks. It has Arnie on the side playing some golf. RIP Arnie.

 

It isn’t out of the oridinary for AriZona to make an energy drink. No. I covered their Rx Energy drink a while back. I don’t think I loved it, but I didn’t hate it either. I gave it a Viewtiful Joe out of Rad so I guess it was okay.

 

AriZona’s take on energy drinks aren’t usually full of those B Vitamins. I mean, there’s probably B Vitamins in this, but from more natural sources rather than actual supplements like, I don’t know, cyanocobalamin (B12). This is also supposed to taste like their well-known Arnold Palmer drink so that’s something. It appeals to me since I really like Arnold Palmer as I said in the Golfman’s Scrimmage post.

 

Anyway, what else is on this can that I should see?

 

So, I guess I missed out on the “all natural” bit until now then? Yeah. This is supposed to be an all natural energy drink. That’s fine. I’m interested in seeing what gives the energy. I guess ginseng is one of the ingredients. This also has coconut water (blech), superfruits, essential vitamins, green tea polyphenols, green coffee extract, quercetin, resveratrol, and BCAAs. Okay, I think I’ve seen “quercetin” before, but I have no idea what resveratrol and BCAAs are.

 

Resveratrol is some plant thing that they use when the plant is “injured” it is commonly found in grapes. It is supposed to be good for you, but studies show there’s no concrete evidence on this yet. Oh well.

 

What is a BCAA? It stands for branched-chain amino acid. Okay. Good for the metabolism. Body builders use it in their food intake. I am not getting too much into it, but really it is just good for the human body and it also supposedly helps with brain activity. That’s a nice sign since most energy drinks are just a kick in the face to keep you going. This is trying to help my mind stay awake which is something that I don’t typically see in energy drinks.

 

 

Well, that’s good. This sounds like it should be pretty good for me then? I don’t really know if I can confirm this.

 

Okay, so this not only is going to help me wake up, but keep my mind focused? I’ll see about that.

 

Let’s look at the nutrition facts and ingredients now.

10% juice. I was expecting 0 honestly.

 

2 servings per can. These nutrition facts are just for one serving.

 

50 calories. 0 calories from fat. 0g total fat. 0g saturated fat. 0g trans fat. 0mg cholesterol. 10mg sodium. 45mg potassium. 14g total carbs. 0g dietary fiber. 13g sugars. 0g protein.

10% Vitamin A. 25% Vitamin C. 0% calcium. 0% iron. 10% Vitamin D. 50% Vitamin E. 300% Vitamin B6. 100% Vitamin B12. 50% pantothenic acid. 2% magnesium.

 

Dag yo! 300% B6?! That’s 600% per can!Maybe there is cyancobalamin in this after all.

 

Ingredients.

 

Premium brewed blend of black teas using filtered water, coconut water from concentrate, sugar, lemon juice from concentrate, pear juice from concentrate, guarana seed extract, magnesium lactate, lactic acid, stevia leaf sweetener, green tea extract, milk thistle extract, ascorbic acid, green coffee extract, ginseng extract, natural flavor, DL-alpha tocopheryl acetate (Vitamin E), calcium d pantothenate, green tea polyphenols, pyridoxine hydrochloride, acai fruit extract, quercetin, resveratrol, leucine, isoleucine, valine, gum acacia, choleaclciferol, ester gum, cycanocobalamin, Vitamin A palmitate.

 

Phew. That’s a lot of stuff! I kind of recognize a bunch of them after reading up on BCAAs like leucine, isoleucine, and valine. Those were all part of the BCAA page I read.

 

So, this is an energy drink, but instead of just going straight for the B Vitamin cocktail a lot of them go for, this uses more natural things or whatever natural means. That’s kind of neat. I wonder how this works in contrast to big names like Monster out there.

 

Well, let’s taste it! This means nothing if it doesn’t taste good! Thankfully they do have the lemonade aspect. I know I’ve been covering a lot about the energy drink side, but there’s lemon juice in this and sugar so that’s lemonade, right? Lemonade, tea, and energy.  Cool?

 

Okay, pouring.

 

Huh. The liquid has a more strawberry tea look to it, but the scent is Arnold Palmer for sure. It has that lemonade scent to it, but it is a very light brown with a hint of red? Like I said, it kind of looks like strawberry tea.

 

Sip time!

 

Hmm. Hmm. Huh!

 

Wow! That’s not bad! The aftertaste is…ugh though.

 

At first sip, it is very green tea tasting. Usually green tea has this kind of off-diet taste, but that doesn’t really take charge because the obvious black tea makes it more grounded with its earthy taste. Then it transitions out of the tea taste and more into the lemonade taste that we know these Arnold Palmer drinks do. The lemonade taste isn’t overly sweet either. It kind of maintains that natural lemonade taste. When the lemonade takes the forefront, the tea taste doesn’t go away, but more like takes a back seat to the tart/citrus lemon taste. I almost expect the medicine taste of the B Vitamins to kick in at this point, but they don’t really. The tartness of the lemon juice kind of lingers until the very end with the tea tastes just sitting on the back of it.

 

The aftertaste, like I said, wasn’t great. It has a sucralose taste to it, but I know it isn’t sucralose. It is just stevia in the end. Thankfully, stevia may taste kind of like sucralose, but the lasting taste of sucralose is missing. It is just there for a second to kind of make the good lemon and tea taste go away.

 

Overall, the drink is pretty tasty and it is kind of exactly what I should have expected from a drink called Arnold Palmer Energy. It tastes like Arnold Palmer that I know and love mixed with an energy drink. The only bad thing about this is that there’s a kind of odd numb feeling in my mouth now after drinking it a little. It kind of feels dry too. I don’t know. It isn’t uncomfortable or anything, but it just doesn’t feel “right.”

 

I’ll give this a par on a par 3 out of Rad. Not bad, but I think I’ll just stick with regular Arnold Palmers if I want the good without the bad. As energy drinks go, this is pretty unoffensive in taste so give this a try if you need a kick but aren’t a fan of their tastes.

