20161209_091755

 

Rad Blog!

 

Yes! I am still alive!

 

This is another Drink Reaction and this time I have another Monster Rehab drink. The other Rehabs I’ve done are quite popular so I’m hoping this one will bode just as well.

 

This Rehab is green and the green is for green tea! When I go to Wawa or whatever convenience store, I don’t typically see this one as often. I did see it in a discount store and figured that it would be perfect to write about here. I got this for a whopping one dollar and fifty cents! Boom!

 

So, like other Monster Rehab drinks, this is an energy drink mixed with tea. I did the red tea before and the tea and lemonades too. This is just green tea with their energy drink formula. It isn’t even carbonated as you can see from the very bottom of the can. It also says it like two more times around the top too. I guess they really wanted to let me know that this is not carbonated.

 

I’ve never thought about a non-carbonated energy drink before. That sounds like it could be really good or really bad. When I think of drinking an energy drink, I usually think about the bubbly first sip, but this one won’t really have that.

 

What I also noticed about this is that there’s 4% juice! What! For flavouring? They don’t need to impress me with juice count because I was under the impression that this was just green tea and an energy drink.

 

Green tea and an energy drink seem like a really odd duo because green tea is extremely light in caffeine and Monster is, well, overkill in the energy giving department. I guess this is what it’s like when worlds collide.

 

The can is kind of cool. It has a nice green look to it, but I get a more forest feel from its green rather than green tea.

 

Ah! Okay! The little description on the side gives me some insight on the flavours. So, apparently this is going to have green tea, coconut water, quercetin, acai berry, and goji berry. Acia berry is a popular crossword puzzle answer by the by. What in the world is quercetin?

 

Well, looking up “quercetin” apparently it is a supplement people use to prevent cancer. Then again, people use a lot of supplements to prevent cancer. This actually seems to have some merit since it apparently is found naturally in red wine and our main event, green tea. It also is used to treat heart disease and a bunch of other heart conditions. Wow! Quercetin is actually pretty good. Okay!

 

So, this is the first Monster drink that can potentially be good for you? I don’t believe that for some reason. This drink appears to me as “Yeah, I wanna be healthy, but I need to wake up too.”

 

Oh well, let’s check out the nutrition facts and ingredients.

 

2 servings per can. I’m using Monster’s per can nutrition facts.

20 calories. 0g total fat. 210mg sodium. 100mg potassium. 7g total carbs. 4g sugars. 0g protein.

80% Vitamin C. 4% Calcium. 200% Niacin. 200% Vitamin B6. 200% Vitamin B12. 200% Pantothenic Acid. 12% Phosphorus. 6% Magnesium.

 

This, just by looking at it, is almost like a supplement with a focus on B Vitamins. There’s a lot more to this version of Monster than the others. Still, the warning label that says kids and pregnant women shouldn’t drink this is still there.

 

Okay! Ingredients!

Brewed tea (filtered water, and black and green tea powders), glucose, pineapple juice concentrate, taurine, apple juice concentrate, citric acid, sodium citrate, panax ginseng extract, natural flavors, phosphoric acid, magnesium lactate, calcium lactate pentahydrate, maltodextrin, monopotassium phosphate, caffeine, ascorbic acid, acesulfame potassium, sucralose, calcium d-pantothenate, niacinamide, concentrated coconut water, salt, gum arabic, guarana extract, quercetin dihydrate, inositol, d-glucuronolactone, l-carnitine l-tartrate, pyridoxine hydrochloride, ester gum, goji berry extract, acai extract, cyanocobalamin.

 

So, there’s a lot of things in this I have never heard of like calcium lactate pentahydrate or agnesium lactate. I’m guessing those are preservatives for the (ugh) coconut water?

 

Also, why does there have to be coconut water in this? This drink would be fine without any coconut in it. Green tea and coconut? That isn’t really something that goes together. Does it? I don’t know. I guess I’ll find out soon enough.

 

Breaking down calcium lactate pentahydrate, that’s really just 5 parts hydrogen and then calcium lactate. What is calcium lactate? It is put in sugar-free things to prevent tooth decay. Lovely. Then again, it is also popular in mouth wash and…cheese? Do I need a lactose pill for this? I guess we’ll find out in a few hours.

 

Okay, let’s see what it tastes like!

 

Pouring!

 

Also, yeah! The juice is pineapple! That’s awesome! This should taste pretty good then, right? More like pineapple flavoured green tea?

 

Pouring it makes it just look like an iced tea really. There’s a slight amber hue probably from Monster’s blend of energy drink stuff. It smells like green tea, but stronger. I think that’s because of the juices they put in it, especially the pineapple juice. It is pretty nice actually.

 

Taste time!

 

Hmm. Hmm. Ehh oh no.

 

Well, at first sip it has an absolute pineapple taste to it. Green tea, if you’re unfamiliar, has a very subtle herbal taste to it, which is a pretty nice compliment to the more tropical tasting pineapple. This actually seems like it will continue to taste this past the first sip, but then it transitions to coconut and that awful sucralose taste. Blech!

 

The innitial taste is very nice. The pineapple and green tea combo is sweet yet herbal. I had no idea pineapple and green tea would work so well honestly. The transition is terrible. The nice sweet and herbal taste turns fast into the medicine taste of B Vitamins which goes as fast as it comes in and then turns into coconut and sucralose. I can taste that hearty consistency of coconut water mixed with that awful fake sucralose sweetener. The after taste, thankfully, is mostly just the coconut.

 

I really wish they approached this differently. This would have been 100% fine without the coconut water. In fact, I would probably really recommend it if it didn’t have that terrible 2 hit combo of sucralose and coconut at the end. All the good of that sweet yet herbal initial taste is completely contrasted by that bad aftertaste. If I swig it a little, the herbal taste is a little bit stronger and kind of stays until the end, but it still doesn’t change the fact that there’s coconut in this.

 

I knocked Kickstart for this very same reason. This drink, though, is a little better with their coconut approach. This doesn’t kill you with coconut taste. This is more of a walk on a beach in Hawaii and a coconut falls off the tree and onto the back of your heel kind of thing.

 

Still, this does one thing really well. It makes me completely forget that this is an energy drink unless I’m really searching for it. I say the medicine taste comes in, but to someone just casually drinking this, they probably won’t notice it at all because of how dominate coconut is.

 

I don’t hate this drink. No. I just don’t prefer it really. When it comes to the other Rehab drinks, I’ll probably stick with Red.

 

I will give this a Thursday class is canceled but you still have class on Friday out of Rad. Some people may really dig this and I can see why. If you really like coconut then you might REALLY like this.

 

