message_1479426847296

 

Rad Blog!

 

I haven’t posted anything about cooking lately, but really it has bloomed into a new interest for me! I’m trying a lot of recipes that there was NO WAY I’d do it before moving out on my own.

 

Anyway, today I made beer battered fish n’ chips! I know, right? Beer?! I have never bought beer before today, but I took one for the team just to make this dish.

 

Both the chips and the fish were prepared by me. Obviously, I didn’t catch the fish myself and it was already de-boned and skinned. One day I’ll learn how to do that myself, but for now, I went with that.

 

So, I’ll tell you how I made this and list what I used.

This is what I used, but you are more than welcomed to change things. Heck, I’m gonna change some of the amounts and probably deviate a little from what I used too.

For the chips:

2 large Russet potatoes, pealed and sliced to desired shape

Salt

Pepper

Paprika

Oil for frying (I used vegetable oil)

 

For the flour:

2 cups of flour

3 tsp salt

3 tsp pepper

 

For the beer batter:

1 can of beer (I used Foster’s)

2 cups of flour

3 tsp salt

3 tsp paprika

1 tsp pepper

 

In the future, I think I’m gonna add some curry powder to the flour mix and/or the beer batter. I might also throw in corn starch in the flour mix.

 

 

Do the fries first I think since it took longer.

 

First, peal the potatoes and slice them in your desired shapes. I made something that resembled long, thick fries. Then, preheat the oven to about 300-350 F. After slicing them, put some vegetable oil in a pot (I wish I had a wok) and heat it. Then add the sliced potatoes in the hot oil and let is cook for a little while. Some people say let the fries sit for about 5 minutes. That might be right. I say let em sit until they are bendy enough for your liking. When they are done in the oil, throw them in a strainer and then toss them on a pan that’s suited for the oven. Sprinkle the fries with your desired amount of salt and paprika. Add pepper or anything else you’d like. Old Bay might taste good on these fries too. Put the tray in the oven and let that cook for about 20 minutes so they get crispy.

20161117_1805511

 

Now, start working on the flour. Mix the flour, salt, and pepper in a large bowl. Set that to the side when you mix it nicely. Now, move on to the beer batter. Mix the flour, salt, pepper, and paprika until it is mixed nicely. Now, pour some beer into said mix gradually. Whisk it as you pour. Keep pouring and whisking until you add in the whole can. Whisk the batter until it is creamy-like and there’s no lumps of flour.

 

20161117_180538

 

Heat the pot or wok yet again with more oil. Take your fish (I used Tilapia) and first coat it in the flour mix. Make sure the flour gets on both sides of the fish. Then, soak it in the beer batter and make sure the beer batter soaks into the fish thoroughly. Quickly, add the now dipped fish into the hot oil. Flip it gradually with a spatula or a fork until it has been fried to a golden brown on both sides.

 

After frying all the fish and taking the fries out of the oven, put it on a plate and enjoy!

 

 

This was pretty good. I am happy with how it turned out, but next time I’m going to add more seasoning in the flour and batter for an extra kick. I’d also like to try using Old Bay on the fries.

