20160925_123144

 

Rad Blog!

 

Today I have a drink I’ve kind of been hoping to write about here. The first time I saw it, I didn’t have any money on me and couldn’t buy it. A few months later, I got this coupon for one dollar off any Coke life product so I made it my mission to find it! I couldn’t find any of those small bottles of it, so I ended up buying a small 6 pack of it. This is why you get the can version of this drink, but I assume it probably doesn’t make that much of a difference.

 

Anyway, this is Coke Life or Coca-Cola Life. I’m going with Coke Life from here on out just to shorten it.

 

So, this is Coke’s attempt to make a “healthier” soda by using stevia instead of sugar and high fructose corn syrup. The anti-HFCS band would probably praise them for this. Me, I didn’t care for a drink when it had sugar and stevia. Honestly, I haven’t had a ton of experience with stevia. I’ve only had that gods awful sucralose AKA Splenda.

 

Stevia probably has been around for a while, but it really has only come to my attention as a new breakthrough for sweeteners. I know there’s one called Truvia that was being advertised for some time.

 

From what I understand, stevia comes from like glucose glands of a plant. I think it is time for CHAS RAD SCIENCE! Research time!

 

I was kind of right. It is a extract from as Stevia plant’s leaves. It is said to have a slower sweetness than sugar and a bitter aftertaste like liquorice. If that’s the case, I wonder if this would taste pretty good as a sweetener for root beer? Liquorice root beer sounds really good to me.

 

Anyway, Coke calls this “Coke Life” because, health reasons? I guess. It does have lower calories so I suppose it is a little better for you. Maybe it is on par with Diet Coke except, you know, without the aspartame.

 

This can is green! Green is life and that’s the stevia’s colour. Yellow is for sucralose. Blue is for aspertame. Green is for stevia. White is for sugar. Pink is for slow, painful death AKA saccharin! Okay, the FDA or whatever approved saccharin, but I still am on guard about it.

 

Well, let’s look at the ingredients and nutrition facts!

 

The serving size is 1 can. That’s good. This is kind of small.

 

90 calories. 0g total fat. 35mg sodium. 24g total carbs. 24g sugars. 0g protein.

 

Not horrible actually. A lot of juices are worse for you compared to this.

 

Ingredients!

 

Carbonated water, cane sugar, caramel color, natural flavors, phosphoric acid, potassium benzoate, caffeine, stevia leaf extract.

 

Wow. The stevia is the last ingredient which means there’s pretty much bugger all in here. So, they really just took the high fructose corn syrup out and threw in stevia at the end. That’s really the only difference between this and regular Coke. Well, I suppose too much stevia would make it too bitter.

 

Let’s open it!

 

It looks like…Coke. I wasn’t expecting much of a difference. There isn’t any food colouring in this so why would there be any difference? It doesn’t smell too different either. Maybe a tad sweeter, but that could be my imagination. All it smells like is sweet with a bit of a bubbly texture.

 

Okay! Sip time!

 

Hmm. Hmm. Hmm!

 

First sip really doesn’t taste like much at all. It tastes like Coke really. It has that more hardy cola taste over Pepsi’s usual sweetness. After a little, the sweetness kind of turns more pronounced. Like it tastes more natural I suppose? It tastes like it has come from the ground  rather than being manufactured. After that, there’s the after taste. At first it has a kind of sucralose vibe to it that it tastes sort of medicine-like, but then I see the bitterness in it. I actually don’t mind it at all. It is pretty good if I say so myself. I mean, if it cut out the medicine taste entirely, this would convince me to go for stevia over other sugar subsitutes. I mean, sugar is still number one for me, but stevia is a nice alternate.

 

Yeah, this is nice. The bitter aftertaste kind of enhances the Coke for me and makes it almost better than the original version. Unfortunately for this, this bitter taste also has a friendly neighbourhood medicine taste with it. It isn’t super apparent, but it is there. I think I’ll be sticking to regular Coke for now, but this is a good “diet” version.

 

I’m going to give this a movie for class out of Rad.

 

I wonder if Pepsi makes a stevia version. I’d love to see how that tastes. Also, I’d love to see a stevia root beer. Coke, make a Barq’s Life. Do it!

