20160731_094058

 

Mornin’ Rad Blog.

 

Hey today we have..wait a moment. Didn’t I just do Death Adder?

 

Silly Rad Blog! This is not Death Adder again. This is Black Mamba. I know. It looks exactly like the can for Death Adder, but I believe this has a slightly more red hue to it while Death Adder was more orange. If you were colourblind, you probably wouldn’t see it at all. I can barely see a difference.

 

Anyway, this is Black Mamba and this is finally a snake I know because of Kill Bill. The black mamba snake is considered the deadliest in the world and is a snake native to Africa. Well, thank goodness for that? I mean, the Aussies have had the last two deadly snakes so I suppose they deserve a brake with this one.

 

In Venom’s world, the Black Mamba drink is their “regular” I suppose. It doesn’t have a flavour associated with it so this is their flagship drink I suppose. I guess I should have started with this one, but I really didn’t know Venom would have an extensive line like this when I first bought Killer Taipan.

 

This, like the others, is described to help me be sharp and full of energy. It says that I need the venom of Black Mamba to help me stay alert. This is true. I’m really tired and I have to go to work soon so I could use a kick. I just hope this one lasts. Like all the drinks, this one tells me to “own it!” again.

 

Also, the warnign label for kids and pregnant women is right here in plain sight. Good, good.

 

The little excerpt doesn’t say what this is supposed to taste like either. It only tells me that it is gonna make me as sharp as snake fangs. With my prior knowledge, I expect this to taste like fizzy water with a hint of sucralose and medicine.

 

Okay! Nutrition facts and ingredients time.

 

servings size is 1 can.

240 calories. 0g total fat. 310mg sodium. 57g total carbs. 53g sugars. 0g protein. 200% riboflavin. 200% niacin. 200% Vitamin B6. 200% Vitamin B12.

 

That was the standard for all the drinks in this line with the 200% energy giving vitamins. I think all of the nutritional attributes are the same too. I just took a quick glance and at least the sugars are consistent.

 

Ingredients!

Carbonated water, corn syrup, glucose, citric acid, maltodextrin, taurine, sodium citrate, l-carnitine, inositol,  caffeine, sodium benzoate, caramel color, potassium sorbate, natural and artificial flavors, niacinamide, sucralose, ginseng extract, pyridoxine hydrochloride, guarana extract, riboflavin, cycanocobalamin.

 

I would like to take a moment and say that the first energy giving thing in this line up is maltodextrin. Kindo f an odd choice as most seem to favour inositol or taurine. Maybe it isn’t that odd. I don’t know. I haven’t really been keeping up with that, but I feel like each energy drink I’ve wrote about here had a different first thing for their energy giving ingredient. That’s the beauty of blends. Each company can use the same stuff as long as they blend it differently and say “hey! We are not Red Bull because they use a mix of taurine and B Vitamins while we use a mix of B Vitamins and taurine!”

 

That’s not what I’m hear for anyway. I am only interested in what this tastes like and let me tell you now, I’m about to open this and try it!

 

Well, it’s uh…yellow. I don’t know what I was really expecting. Maybe red because the can is red. Then again, the ingredients didn’t have any dyes so this is all natural!

 

It looks like…pee. I’m serious. This isn’t the fake yellow of Killer Taipan. This looks like straight urine. I guess I say that a lot about these “original” flavours since they don’t bother trying to make it appear like a flavour.

 

It kind of smells sweet actually. It smells like sweet gasoline. Like, I feel like I’m being lured to a sweet, but really painful death. Kind of fitting if I say so myself since this is supposed to be black mamba venom.

 

Let’s taste!

 

Hmm. Hmm. Huh.

 

It really doesn’t taste like much if I’m honest! My first sip was kind of fizzy with a hint of tart and sweetness. Then it kind of transitions into a more dull sharpness while the sweetness kind of takes over. Then the tartness becomes a sort of undertone to the sweetness. Then there’s the taste of medicine from the B Vitamins that comes in with really no barrier to stop the flavour. Thankfully, I think they kind of blend well with the sweetness so it isn’t as offensive as some energy drinks tend to be (coughcoughhardrockcough). The aftertaste is kind of nothing. It pretty much disappears with not a real sucralose-lingering effect. It is just kind of sweet all the way to the end.

 

It tastes like a less sweet Monster without a huge bite of medicine flavour. In fact, if you hate that part about energy drinks, this is probably perfect for you. Also it is 99 cents so there’s nothing wrong with that! Honestly, if this has the same kick as a Monster, I don’t see why I wouldn’t get this over it. It tastes slightly not as good, but it is 99 cents. If you need a pick-me-up, I can say this is probably a good choice if you don’t want an offensive flavour.

 

I’m going to give this a really good birthday present out of Rad. I think this is the best of Venom so far. Interesting. Sometimes less is more.

