Rad Blog.

 

Daily prompt time. I haven’t done one of these in a while.

Guest is the prompt today and here’s what I have to say about that word.

 

Well, the first thing that comes to mind is that song in Beauty and The Beast where they sing “Be our guest.” That movie was set in France, right? Well, in English it is “be our guest” but the French version of the song says “c’est la fête ” which means “this is the party” or “it’s party time” or something like that.

 

Anyway! Slightly off-topic, but I like French so that’s something. If I went to France, I’d totally be a guest in the country. I have a feeling a lot of French people don’t like Americans for whatever reason. Take your pick, really. I just want to say to all the French people reading this blog, I don’t dislike you guys at all. I was actually hoping France (or Belgium) would win the Euros, but that didn’t happen.

 

The word “guest” makes me reflect on a lot of things, specifically how I feel right now. I feel like I’m a guest to the world, but I have only myself to blame for that. I’m working at the tourist hotspot this summer and I see a lot of people, both young and old. Most of the people slightly older than I am have children which they take to the attractions. The ones younger than me are still in school. I’ve said this before, but I relate to neither.

 

I saw a guy that was about my age and he was taking care of his snotty son who got scared of something inside our facility. I mean, the guy was cool, but since he was so engrossed with his son, I didn’t have time to chat with him. I could tell he was playing some Pokemon Go because while his son was playing in our facility, he was catching something. I was going to comment, but then his son was like “Bwaaa! Daddy!” and that was that.

 

Then I saw a girl, who was probably a bit younger than I was and she had a Fall Out Boy shirt. Now, Fall Out Boy is probably one of my favourite bands from when I was a teen Chas Rad, so I told her “Fall Out Boy, eh? What’s your favourite song?” She goes and tells me that “Centuries” is her favourite song. I didn’t recognize it at first, but then I realized that it was part of the “new” Fall Out Boy stuff that I really don’t like since it is too pop-sounding. Anyway, she asked me what song I like and I told her “Sending Postcards From A Plane Crash”and she had no idea which song that was.

 

The point is, I’m like a guest in this world. I’m at an age where most people have transitioned into being a full-on adult or are on the dying end of being a kid. I’m stuck in purgatory of being clueless. I don’t think about careers, but I care about the release date of No Man’s Sky. I don’t care about who the members of Twenty One Pilots are, but I care about which day my rent is due. It is an odd time and I don’t really know who I should be friends with anymore since I feel like the population of this purgatory is quite low. I mean, I know of a few people in it, but most I don’t like because they don’t realize they are in the purgatory with me. They are trying to hurry up and grow up or hold on tight to being a kid. Me, I guess I’ve recently let go of the idea of being a kid. I also don’t wanna be an adult because being an adult sucks. Unfortunately, I am already seen as an elder at my workplace since I’m the second oldest person that works there. I’m the calm in the storm.

 

Though, is this a bad thing? No. I like my role as the one these kids look at for help. The thing is, they actually believe I have all the answers and I know for a fact that I don’t. Maybe that’s the thing that makes people successful adults. People think that you know the answers, but really you don’t. Being a good adult is knowing how to fake this. I guess that’s why the saying goes “fake it ’til you make it.”

 

I suppose if you fake it long enough, you eventually do find out what works. I just hope I’m not too old by then.

 

I bet this isn’t the last time I feel this way. I bet that once I hit around 50 maybe 60 that I’ll be in the whole transition of clueless adult to wise elder. Then I’ll have the whole “should I retire or should I buy a motorcycle?” question looming over me. Since I’m not going to be a father, I don’t have to worry about the whole parenthood aspect, so maybe that transition will be a lot easier than the one I’m currently in right now.

 

Really, what I need is experience. If I had to describe life’s goal to someone who knew nothing about humans, I’d say “humans strive to gain experience. That way we don’t feel like guests all the time.”

