20160529_190034

Party hard, Rad Blog!

 

So, this is VegasFuel or Vegas Fuel. I don’t bloody know. I haven’t even heard of this until I saw it at Rite Aid the other day. They have two versions of this for sale at my local Rite Aid which includes this one and the sugar free version. I’ll happily skip that one.

 

VegasFuel. Cool. It is another energy drink, oh wait, I’m sorry. This is an “energy drink experience.” I better be experiencing some awesome energy with this!

 

Let’s take a look at thew can. Obviously it wants to give that “party all night” vibe by referencing Vegas, but they forget that Rock Star already did that. Oh well. I suppose Hard Rock is its best competitor.

 

Seriously, what is stopping me from buying Rock Star, which isn’t even as good as NOS or Monster, over this? I’ve not heard of VegasFuel before and surely it isn’t going to be that unique, right? What’s the gimmick? Usually drinks try to get people to buy their drinks by saying “Oh yeah, we use Cmplx 6” or “We use all natural energy giving stuff.” What is the hook for this other than Vegas?

 

There’s a little excerpt on the side that basically says this energy drink will give its all to you. Good. I wouldn’t want a half hearted drink.

 

Looking at this can, it is just black with a few text blocks here and there as well as that red circle thing. It kinda looks like it should be a gasoline company’s logo if I’m honest. Maybe that’s because it is called “VegasFuel.”

 

I took a peek at the warnings or whatever and I saw this as a first. Along with the warning for pregnant women and kids, there’s a warning that says this isn’t a medicine and will not cure diseases. It is like what I found on AriZona’s RX Stress or whatever drink. RX Energy?

 

How much was this? It was $1.50. That’s actually, really good in terms of price. I guess they have that going for them. Compared to Rock Star and Monster, this is almost a dollar fewer.

 

Well, the Nutrition Facts say there’s 2 servings in this, but they only provide the facts for one serving. Oh well.

 

110 calories. 0g total fat. 0g saturated fat. 0g trans fat. 0mg cholesterol. 105mg sodium. 15mg potassium. 27g total carbs. 0g dietary fiber. 24g sugars. 0g protein.

 

0% Vitamin A. 0% Vitamin C. 0% calcium. 0% iron. 100% niacin. 240% Vitamin B6. 80% Vitamin B12. 50% pantothenic acid.

 

What and odd label. Why bother posting the 0% Also, holy holy holy about the Vitamin B6. Pyridoxine hydrochloride ahoy! I guess this is their selling point. They have an interesting blend of energy. Instead of 200% or 100% or 150% all around, they have this. Is this any better or worse? I have no idea. I don’t do that sort of science-y thing. I just tell you how it tastes.

 

Speaking of taste, what is in this so I can see what flavour this is supposed to be!

 

Carbonated water, high fructose corn syrup, citric acid, taurine, natural & artificial flavors, sodium citrate, glucuronolactone, caffeine, calcium pantothenate, potassium sorbate, sodium benzoate, panax ginseng root extract, guarana seed extract, niacinamide, inositol, gum arabic, FD&C Red 40. glycerol ester of wood rosin, pyridoxine hydrochloride, cycanocobalamin.

 

So, there’s fewer odd sounding things in this. It is mostly just energy giving things too so, uh, expect Hard Rock but red? Oh yeah, RED 40 CHAS RAD APPROVED! KIDS OFF THE WALLS!

 

Well, let’s open it!

 

Huh! It is very red, yeah. It reminds me of those drinks they give in Mass Effect when Shepard is at the Citadel. 

It smells really nice though. Like really, really sweet. I would suspect fruit punch. Even though I like the smell of it, there’s this lingering undertone that smells of death. It is like a sweet death. If I had to make an analogy, think Venus Flytrap.

 

Time to taste!

 

Hmm. Oh oh. Ohhh.

 

Oh that’s, not very nice at all.

 

Well, the initial taste is okay. It tastes kind of like cherries, but like cherry flavoured things, it quickly turns to cough medicine flavour. That’s exactly what happens. The niceness of the smell and initial taste quickly make way for this horrible medicine taste. It is a lot like what I experienced with Hard Rock, but at least this has a slightly fruity aftertaste.

 

No, this is not good at all. Nope. It might as well be gasoline. It is not good, but it isn’t the worst thing I’ve ever had. That firmly falls with Hard Rock and thankfully this beats it by a hair.

 

I’m giving this a slam your fingers in the car door out of Rad. Pass.

 

At least it doesn’t have sucralose in it! That’s a huge plus here.

