20160422_161506

 

Rad Blog!

 

Today’s the day! The last time I have to write about Kickstarts (I hope).

 

This is the last Kickstart in the collection of the puppymonkeybaby era. This one, much like blood orange, is also a “recharge” which means it is probably low calorie and introduces antioxidants or whatever they wanna say.

 

I’m actually interested to see if this one can be the best, though I think the watermelon Kickstart is going to secure that place for sure today as this already has the odds stacked against it with its lack of sugar and focus on sucralose.

 

If the flavour is good, then it has a chance! Hopefully it will be strong enough block the sucralose.

 

Anyway, the can is nice. The blue is a new colour to the Kickstart line and anything new for them is probably better than keeping on keeping on. The little “with Vitamin E” circle is slightly easier to distinguish because it is blue rather than red as we saw on the coconut water.

 

Well, I can’t say I have high hopes for this one because of how not great blood orange was, but its a new day. Hey! This could be good. I love pomegranate flavour, but I doubt this has any actual pomegranate juice in it. For one dollar? You kidding me? That POM juice is like four bucks.

 

Blueberry on the other hand is more likely to be featured, though I’m fairly sure this is going to be just white grape juice and natural flavors.

 

Well, let’s hop to it. I can’t wait to be done with these forever try this!

 

Nutrition facts and ingredients coming your way!

 

Serving size is 1 can.

 

60 calories per can.

 

0g total fat. 125mg sodium. 15g total carbs. 14g sugars. 0g protein. 100% Vitamin C. 15% Vitamin E. 60% niacin. 60% Vitamin B6. 45% pantothenic acid. 10% phosphorus.

 

I don’t think I have to make this point again but the sodium level is really high probably for the antioxidants.

 

Ingredients!

 

Carbonated water, high fructose corn syrup. white grape juice concentrate, blueberry juice concentrate, citric acid, natrual flavor, sodium hexametaphosphate, malic acid, potassium sorbate, ascorbic acid, gum arabic, caffeine, acesulfame potassium, sucralose, niacinamide, glycerol ester of rosin, calcium disodium edta, vitamin E acetate, calcium pantothemate, pyridoxine hydrochloride, blue 1, red 40, caramel color.

 

RED 40 CHAS RAD APPROVED!

 

So, I was originally thinking this was going to be Windex Blue, but it looks like it should look more natural or Fabuloso Purple.

 

Well, let’s get it on!

 

Oh, it is more of a somber antifreeze colour. Huh. Didn’t really expect that.

 

Oh yeah! I was right. No freaking trace of pomegranate here, but blueberry juice is in this! Have I spent too much time covering these or what?

 

Smells actually really, really nice. The blueberry scent is really fresh and crisp. It also has a grape scent to it. Yes. Very blueberry and grape in scent. I guess there’s a slight hint of pomegranate, but it really is the blueberry show here.

 

Well, let’s taste it!

 

Hmm. Hmm. Huh!

 

Interesting! Very, very interesting.

 

The first taste I get is very tart. It is probably from the blueberry and grape combo, then it transitions into this nice freshness that tastes a lot like pomegranate. I gotta say, for there being no pomegranate juice in this, it does a darn good job tasting like it. I would say this is almost as rich in taste as the watermelon, but not quite.

 

Then, there’s that horrible aftertaste again. The good news is that this drink holds it back for as long as possible. Blood orange barely put up a fight, but this sure did. Thankfully, this one doesn’t linger like blood orange did. The sucralose is just mildly terrible here and the medicine taste is quite brief too.

 

Yeah! Not a terrible way to finish these Kickstarts! If you wanna try the Recharge line, this is my pick over blood orange. This is much, much better.

 

I’ll give this a got into the next grade but still had to go to summer school out of Rad.

 

Not a terrible one.

 

That’s the end of Kickstarts! Done! I don’t know if they plan on releasing any more, but I’ll be there with my grumpy gumption.

 

My choices? Watermellon, this, and Limeade. Avoid? Black Cherry, Orange, Fruit Punch.

 

Huh! I don’t have any drinks in reserve for you! So, here’s me off for a while. I’ll see you eventually! Maybe I can get my hands on Salted Caramel Java Monster to finish that line too!

