20160409_162113

 

Top o’ the mornin’ Rad Blog.

 

Do Irish people actually say that? I’m going to have to ask my Irish friend.

 

Anyway, the Queen enjoyed my post on Kona Java Monster so much (and I gave her a taste) that she begged me to do more of Java Monster. This is probably so she can taste them all, but I happily agreed. I really liked Kona blend so I’m more than happy to try more Java Monster. I bought two more and we are starting with Irish Blend.

 

Well, what can I say about this one! Unlike Kona blend, the rest of the Java Monsters have similar excerpts on the can. I’ll post it directly from the website.

No foam, extra hot, half-caf, no-whip, soy latte…Enough of the coffeehouse BS already!

It’s time to get out of the line and step up to what’s next!

Java Monster Irish Blend…premium coffee and cream brewed up with authentic Irish flavor, supercharged with Monster energy blend.

Coffee done the Monster way, wide open, with a take no prisoners attitude and the experience and know-how to back it up.

The only thing that changes is the paragraph stating with “Java Monster Irish Blend…”

 

Well, what is Irish coffee? I thought it would be far too cold for coffee to grow in Ireland. Maybe they use Irish cream. Did you know that I probably have some Irish in me? Yeah!

 

What is Irish cream anyway? Whiskey and cream. Interesting. Lovely. I am probably not going to like this, am I?

 

Well , I could. I do enjoy a bourbon or Jack Daniels BBQ sauce. Though, whiskey and cream? I don’t know about that.

 

The can is really cool. I kinda like it better than the Kona one. It is less woody, but it has a nice green hue to it. I also like the little carvings on the side. They remind me of the old Celtic tribes. There’s even a little shamrock in the mix of this. It is pretty cool. If I had to be picky about the can’s art, I would ask why the green looks more like a marble counter top. I know it is green for Ireland, but what’s with the marble look? Is it supposed to be emerald? I don’t know.

 

Well, let’s look at what’s in the drink then.

 

I’m going to have Kona’s post open too so I can compare the nutrition facts and ingredients.

 

 

Nutrition Facts!

I’m going with the per can values again as I usually do if it is provided.

200 calories per can. 2 servings in this can. 40 calories from fat.
4g total fat. 2.5g saturated fat. 0g trans fat. 20mg cholesterol. 480mg sodium. 240mg potassium. 31g total carbs. 27g sugars. 9g protein.

90% Vitamin C. 30% calcium. 190% Riboflavin. 190% Niacin. 190% Vitamin B6. 20% phosphorus.

 

Fewer calories in this as well as calcium. Probably less milk. That confuses me! There should be more in this because of the Irish cream. Maybe there isn’t any then.

 

Well, let’s move on to the ingredients.

Brewed coffee (filtered water, coffee extract), skim milk, sugar, heavy cream, glucose, taurine, sodium citrate, natural flavors, panax ginseng extract, color added, salt, tricalcium phosphate, caffeine, ascoric acid, microcrystalline cellulose, guar gum, sucralose, niacinamide, carrageenan, maltodextrin, l-carnitine l-tartrte, inositol, guarana extract, d-glucurinolactone, pyridoxine hydrochloride, riboflavin.

 

 

I gotta be honest here. I’m slightly miffed by this. Coffee extract? Kona Blend used actual coffee. What gives?

 

Now I see why there’s less fat in this. They used skim milk over whatever milk was used in Kona Blend. I guess it is only up from the heavy cream. It didn’t say Irish cream either. What is making this Irish then?

 

I guess  I’ll really explore that when I do Mean Bean probably tomorrow.

 

Well, let’s open this.

 

Hmm. Well, this has a more roasted scent. It doesn’t really have any undertones to it. It is more, well, coffee. This is the kind of scent I don’t usually like that much. There’s a sort of milky scent to it too. Kinda fresh I suppose. It is woody with a fresh scent? I don’t know how else to describe it.

 

Well, this really is just fake coffee with Monster. Hopefully the heavy cream does its job and gives it a really cream taste.

 

Let’s have a drink.

 

Hmm. Hmmmmm. Ah!

 

Very creamy! The milky taste is extremely apparent and it is kinda thick like a milk shake almost yet the drink isn’t really thick at all. The texture feels thick, but it has a more watery consistency.  The coffee taste comes right after the milk taste. It only stays for a short time before the Monster taste comes in and kinda gets rid of it. This has that energy drink taste to it with coffee flavouring. Yeah, I think I can dig this because it is more of a coffee flavoured energy drink rather than a energy drink flavoured coffee.

 

Me, I don’t normally like coffee at all. I don’t like the scent. I don’t like the taste. This is nice and creamy with a slight woody bitterness then the citrus kick of energy drinks. It is pretty darn good. I’m wondering if Mean Bean is going to be less creamy. I think I would prefer this if there was less cream and more of that interesting transition of coffee to energy drink. It just works. It sounds odd, but it really clicks for me.

 

I’ll give this a half-suplex out of Rad. I’m still all about this Java Monster.

