20160329_211937

Rad Blog…

Well, they did it again. Kickstart released four new flavours of this stuff during the latest Superb Owl with that, well, commercial. I am not linking to it because it is pretty disturbing in my opinion. I think I said that before so I won’t beat a dead puppymonkeybaby with an empty can of Kickstart.

 

So, this is one of their new coconut water drinks. Out of the four they released, three are with coconut water. I don’t know why they didn’t just do half and half or make them all one or the other, but that’s how it is. Thankfully, this is watermelon flavour, which is something I tend to like most of the time. I’ll give it to Mountain Dew for this one. There isn’t an energy drink out there that I can think of that is pretty much watermelon flavoured. I mean, there’s a ton of punch kinds, but none that just goes by watermelon.

 

CHAS EDIT! I said 3 of them have coconut water, but it is not true! Only this one has coconut water! Two are in similar can styles so I can see how I got that they might be with coconut water!

 

It is kinda late, but thankfully these aren’t packed with caffeine. I’m actually kinda hopeful for this drink because I don’t really hate their coconut water Kickstarts because they mask the terrible medicine taste. Watermelon is also pretty good and fresh so hopefully it will make an impact on their otherwise dismal line of drinks. You know if you’ve read this blog at all that I didn’t care for their first wave. Out of all of the newly release drinks, I have the highest hopes for this one.

 

Well, the can is okay I guess. It looks exactly like all the other ones, except it is green. I guess I like green. It works with the white. Yellow and white didn’t go so well for me and the light red didn’t do it for me either. Green and white? That’s kinda nice.

 

These aren’t that expensive. I got this for like a dollar and change but I have seen it for as low as a dollar some places. I picked them all up at the same time so be on the lookout for the rest of the Kickstart clan. Oh boy. You don’t know how thrilled I am to be almost done with these.

 

Please, by the Yoshigods, let this one be tasty.

 

Let’s get into the nutrition and ingredients.

 

10% juice! That’s kinda impressive. I think the others had five or fewer. No, it is just the coconut ones then. Hmm. At least it is consistent? That’s not really a compliment.

 

Oh dear me. This white text on green is not easy to read.

 

Serving size is 1 can. Okay, good. This is a pretty tiny can.

 

60 calories. 0g total fat. 130mg sodium. 16g total carbs. 15g sugars. 0g protein. 100% Vitamin C. 60% Niacin. 60% Vitamin B6. 45% Pantothenic Acid. 10% Phosphorus.

 

Huh. Good source of Vitamin C. That’s actually pretty awesome. I don’t think the others had that. I’m going to have to cross-reference things. Be right back!

 

Huh. Not that typical. The orange one had 100% and a few had 75%. Some had 0%. This makes up for them. I am genuinely delighted to see this is 100% in Vitamin C. There’s some hope. HOPE, I SAY!

 

Ingredients? Let’s see here.

 

Carbonated water, high fructose corn syrup, white grape juice concentrate, coconut water concentrate, citric acid, sodium hexametaphosphate, natural and artificial flavor, potassium sorbate, ascorbic acid, gum arabic, caffeine, acesulfame potassium, sucralose, niacinamide, glycerol ester of rosin, calcium disodium edta, calcium pantothenate, sucrose acetate isobutyrate, red 40, pyridoxine hydrochloride, yellow 6

 

Hope dashed.

White grape. I should have expected it. There’s also some stuff I’m not too familiar with like “sucrose acetate isobutyrate.” It mixes water and fat. Okay. That’s cool.

 

Well, let’s get to the drink before it gets even later.

 

Oh yeah, RED 40 CHAS RAD APPROVED! KIDS OFF THE WALL!

 

Woah. I was kinda expecting the colour of the drink to be orange by the sound of Red 40 and Yellow 6 being in it, but this is pretty darn pink like a watermelon. At least they got that right.

 

The scent is, well, not terrible. I mean, it smells of watermelon, but in a fake sort of way. It is like what you’d expect a hand sanitizer to smell like. It certainly smells nice, but it is synthesized. It reminds me of those candies my friend used to give me from the Asian super market. Hmm. Maybe it will taste good. I can only hope, right.

 

Well, here’s to watermelon.

 

Hmm. Huh. Err.

 

Well, it tastes kinda okay actually. The first taste I get is an overwhelming medicine bite. It stings for a little and there’s a sort of acid taste that quickly dissolves into coconut. Then the after taste is the strangest of all. It tastes of watermelon, but incredibly synthesized watermelon that actually makes the coconut flavour tame. That’s like, really impressive because I hate coconut. This fake watermelon keeps it under control so the aftertaste doesn’t suck. Oh, there we go. The coconut arose now, but that was a good while before. This fake watermelon really keeps it in check!

 

Yeah, this one is, dare I say, not that bad! I would absolutely put it as my top Kickstart. No questions about that. The flavour itself isn’t the best thing I’ve ever had, but for a 1 dollar kick, this is pretty jamming.

 

Aw man, the sucralose is still there, but this drink really puts it in its place. I can feel it linger with the coconut. It is odd because two things I hate go really well together. Sucralose and coconut. Who would have thought that would work, eh?

 

I’ll give this a your mean boss actually bought doughnuts for the office out of rad.

 

Do I recommend it? If you must try a Kickstart, then go for this one. It is by far the best tasting out of the ones I’ve had.

 

Congratulations Watermelon Kickstart! You are the best of the worst!

 

 

