Rad Blog! Bwhahaha!

Daily prompt time!

Money for Nothing

I’ll have to quote this prompt or otherwise you won’t believe me.

If you’re like most of us, you need to earn money by working for a living. Describe your ultimate job. If you’re in your dream job, tell us all about it — what is it that you love? What fulfills you? If you’re not in your dream job, describe for us what your ultimate job would be.

See? I told you that you wouldn’t believe me.

 

I think the daily prompt thing has been reading Years 3-4 Chas.

 

I will entertain this prompt because I’m sorta in a foul mood and there’s nothing I love more than to complain about my own shortcomings.

 

Dream job? The phrase itself makes me feel more dead inside than I already am. What is with this dream job stuff?

 

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it right now, I have no idea what I’m doing with myself. People search for passion in their career or life all the time. There’s probably millions of people that are in a job that they hate, but it brings in the money? Yeah?

 

I can’t ascertain why people cannot be happy with that fact. The world revolves around money. If I made enough money to live fairly well (meaning pay the bills, rent, and food costs while having some money to invest in hobbies or whatever) then I would be very copasetic.

 

Finding passion in a career is a pipe dream. It shouldn’t be that way that we need to love what we do all the time. It isn’t realistic.

 

I’ll take me for example. You wanna ask me about my passions? I would play Payday 2 or Euro/American Truck Simulator all day if I could. Is that a realistic career? Nope! Do people make money playing video games all day? They certainly do. There’s a bunch of professional streamers on Twitch or professional YouTube people out there. What I’m saying is that it is unrealistic of me to want to join those ranks. No one watches me on Twitch besides my close friends. My YouTube channel is hindered by Google’s limitations they put on me.

 

The prompt asks me to describe my ultimate job for you, Rad Blog. Well, I will. I’ll play a part as a dreamer and tell you that if I got paid to become basically what I do online, then I’d be having the dream job. I’ll tell you why it is ideal, but then tell you why I’m glad it isn’t my job.

What do I do? I blog, I play truck simulators, and I drink a lot of energy drinks where I tell you how good or bad they taste. I love doing these things. I would say they are my passions if you like that sort of word. So, I suppose if I got a pittance for doing all those things, I would call it the “dream job.”

 

Why am I not living this? Well, Rad Blog, I will tell you. These are my hobbies. I like doing them because I don’t get paid. I don’t have limitations. I don’t have deadlines. I don’t have to fear viewer count or viewer interaction. I don’t have to worry about making some third party company happy with a sponsored post. Most importantly, I don’t have to worry about a contract breech or heck, even contracts in general.

I love this my blog and my streaming, but it is for fun. If I got paid for my passions, I would be dreading a bunch of stupid crap I don’t have to right now.

 

What do I do instead if my “dream job” is a sham? I just look for work that will pay me enough that I can do the stuff I like in my leisure time. Getting paid for what I like adds a bunch of responsibilities.

 

This questions is more idealistic. If I could just continue to do what I am doing now with none of these limitations/obstacles, then that would be perfect. Again, this is extremely unrealistic. Who would pay me to write the exact words I’ve been writing for close to 1000 posts now? Who would pay me to droll on about nothing while I drive a video game version of a real truck to MF DOOM’s Special Herbs? Who would seriously do that without once questioning my viewer interaction or time people spend watching me or subscriber count? Who?

 

Nobody.

 

So, I’ll just continue on in my quest to find the first place interested enough in me to give me a full time job. I don’t really care what it is with some limitations. I got to be able to actually, you know, do the job well enough where I won’t get fired. Searching for a job where I’ll be passionate about my work isn’t worth my time or effort. I suppose I also shouldn’t do a job where I’ll absolutely hate the work. That’s a different story. It is easy to avoid a job where I hate the work. It is pointless to find a job where I love the work. That is why I look for a job where I wouldn’t feel anything.

 

I fell in that trap in Years 3 and 4 where I wanted to find myself, but now I think I’ve found the answer. It doesn’t matter what I do, because in the end I have to make the best with my situation.

 

The Myth of Chasyphus.

 

