Rad Blog.

 

Time for a prompt.
The Wanderer

 

Judging by the title, you should kinda know what the prompt asked today. It asks for the top five places I’d liked to travel. Prelude time because that’s what I do.

 

I am not a well traveled person. I have hardly been out of my state, let alone country. Actually, I’ve never been out of the USA. I’m a poser. I’m an uneducated, uncultured swine!

 

That’s just mean to call myself.

 

Really, I just haven’t had the opportunity. Traveling back in the day was easier. Security wasn’t as crazy. The economy was slightly better, and even if it wasn’t, finding work somewhere wasn’t improbable. No, my parents couldn’t afford for us to travel out of the country. I can’t either right now.

 

What I can do is travel in the country! I have been to uh, let’s see. Pennsylvania. Kansas. Delaware. Maryland. Florida.

 

Okay. So, it isn’t very impressive. I don’t care! I haven’t been the aspired traveler ever.

 

There are, however, some places I would absolutely love to see, both in the US and outside of it.

 

Here’s my top 5 places. I think I’ll have to change my category name to add Top 5. 10 is just too many sometimes.

Honestly, I haven’t really researched any of these places. This is mostly a list of places I’d like to visit. If I do go and visit, I’d absolutely research them more. I am just too poor to go now, despite people my age saying they are gonna travel the world before they settle. I’d like to figure out my life first before I travel down the pipe dream that is visiting different places.

 

5: New Zealand

Why New Zealand? This was more of my Queen’s choice, but her wanting to go here has made me really think about it. New Zealand man. It is near Australia, which is cool. I’d also like to point out that I’d consider every person I’ve ever met online from New Zealand to be one of the nicest people I’ve ever met. How many is that, you ask? Like 5. The views in New Zealand look absolutely stunning. There seems to be quite a gathering of cultures too. I’m not really into rugby, but this country is the best around in the game. Maybe I’d try to watch.

 

4: France

Of course this would be on here. I’ve been trying to learn French for the past year and I think I’ve made some pretty decent progress. I know times are bad at the moment with the attack in Paris, but that will never stop me from wanting to see it one day. Paris has a great art scene for the Queen, and luckily I can read French pretty well to know if I’m about to walk into a bakery or something. I’d love to see Marseilles  in addition to Paris. The food there is what drives me. I mean, people like wine, but I don’t drink. Still, I can enjoy a vineyard. Chateaus are also a plus.

 

3: Belgium

Of course! The reason for me to study French was so I could follow my favourite Belgian players online. Belgium is a really interesting place as they speak French, Dutch, and German. It is a nice center place of Europe. I’d like to see the national team play, but is that even open to non-citizens? I really don’t know. Shows how much I care about the US national team (psst not even a little!).

 

2: United Kingdom

 

I say the UK because I don’t want to limit myself to England. Of course, I really want to go to England, but I’d hate to leave out Scotland and Wales. Scotland would be great to see for the castles and the great views. I actually have Welsh roots so I’d like to see it too. Maybe I should start learning Welsh so I can correctly pronounce Llanfairpwllgwyngyll­gogery­chwyrn­drobwll­llan­tysilio­gogo­goch among other city names. England is quite obvious for me. I wanna see a football match. I believe it would be really difficult without references as I always see people asking for them on Twitter. The food would be great to try as well. I’ve just spent the last month watching this guy make British food and it all looks so very good.

 

1: New Orleans

 

Hold up, Chas. You list all these countries, and number one is some place in the USA? What gives!? Well, Rad Blog, New Orleans is number one for a few reasons. First off, the food. That’s the biggest reason I need to go there. I love Southern style Creole/Cajun cooking. Can’t get enough of it, man. Jambalaya. Gumbo. Red beans and rice. So good. Secondly, the architecture is French inspired. As you know, I like French things and it would be nice to see it in the US since I don’t have a passport. Thirdly, it is in the USA. I have the best chance of seeing this place out of everywhere else since the cost of travel would be significantly less, so it goes up to number one on the list because I can actually feel like I can go here one day. Everywhere else is just a wish.

 

Anyway, that’s my list. I very much doubt I’d fit in well in any of these places, but that doesn’t stop me from wanting to see them. There’s a bunch of other places I’d like to see, but this prompt asked for 5. Other notable places include Iceland, Japan, Seattle, Côte d’Ivoire, and Mauritius.

 

In the end, I’ll probably never see any of these places because I’ll end up working my life away. A shame really.

