20151111_144337

 

Rad Blog!

 

Here we go. Want some muscle? Want some energy? Well, has Monster got something for you!

 

This is Muscle Monster in chocolate flavour. At first, I thought this was just going to be chocolate Monster, but nope. This is an “energy shake.”

 

What is an energy shake? I have no idea honestly. This is what I’m speculating.

 

You know what Muscle Milk is? I do. I have never tried it, but I’ve seen it a lot. In fact, I might just end up writing about it here. I think they take some Muscle Milk and pour it in with a can of Monster. Violà! Muscle Monster!

 

Side point: Why can’t stupid American keyboards include an easy way to put letters like “à.” I’m sure there’s a special keyboard that automatically does it. I wonder if they come in a gaming hybrid. Hmm. This is especially important for me since I’m usually studying languages online.

 

ANYWAY!

 

You can see in my picture that unlike other Monsters, this has protein. This comes in two flavours as well. I picked chocolate because I like chocolate, but I think the other one was vanilla. I didn’t really look that hard at it.

 

Let’s see what the official site has to say about this drink.

 

Oh! There’s more flavours too!

 

Chocolate, Vanilla, Strawberry, and Banana.

 

Well, that’s nice. The Wawa I went to only had chocolate and vanilla.

 

Here’s what the official site says about this:

Monster athletes do not win by accident, it takes years of hard work and determination to be a champion.  Need a little motivation to meet your personal goals?  Meet your new “coach in a can,” Muscle Monster Energy Shake.

Specially formulated with our Monster Energy® Blend to help motivate you to train harder and longer, Muscle Monster also provides the fuel you need to power through your workouts.

Muscle Monster`s 25 grams of protein helps build lean body mass and aids in muscle recovery after a strenuous workout.

Get in the game, break a sweat, break your record, break the rules, with Muscle Monster Energy Shake.

Pump up the Beast!

 

 

Reading this kinda deters me from drinking this after taking a nap. Maybe I’ll do a layover post.

 

Yes. I think I will. I’ll do the boring stuff first with the ingredients and nutrition facts.

 

I promise I’ll work out. I’ll do like a 30 min run or something.

 

 

Okay, let’s get the nutrition facts straight.

 

Contains milk. Well, better take my lactose pill before drinking this then.

 

Facts per can because who only drinks half the can?

200 calories. 35 calories from fat. 4 g total fat. 2.5g saturated fat. 15mg cholesterol.  470mg sodium. 830mg potassium. 19g total carbs. 16g sugars. 25g protein.

 

90/5 Vitamin C. 60% Calcium. 4% Iron. 190% Riboflavin (Vitamin B2). 190% Niacin (Vitamin B3). 190% Vitamin B6.

 

Wow. This is basically chocolate milk with Monster’s inflated B Vitamins.

 

Ingredients.

 

Ultrafiltered skim milk, reduced fat milk, calcium caseinate (milk), glucose, sugar, cocoa (processed with alkali), taurine, sodium citrate, microcrystalline cellulose, potassium citrate, potassium phosphate, panax ginseng extract, salt, caffeine, cellulose gum, ascorbic acid (Vitamin C), sodium polyphosphate, sucralose, natrual flavors, niacinamide (Vitamin B3), carrageenan, acesulfame potassium, inositol, D-glucuronolactone, guarana extraxt, L-carnitine, L-tartrate, pyridoxine hydrochloride (Vitamin B6), Riboflavin (Vitamin B2).

 

Okay. There’s a ton of stuff I have never heard of here which I’m assuming is protein stuff. What in the world is “microcrystalline cellulose” or “carrageenan.”

 

Seaweed?!?!?!?! Well, this is common in dairy products, which must have started the myth that McDonald’s shakes have no milk in it and are made of seaweed. I guess it is only partly true. It might have this “carrageenan” in it, but it most certainly has milk in it too.

 

So “microcrystalline cellulose” is partly wood. IT makes it so stuff doesn’t turn to cake. Uh…okay. Ah! It is common in vitamin supplements. Well, okay then.

 

We’ll see this tomorrow after I do a workout after work. See ya tomorrow!

 

DO DO DA DOOOOO

 

I’ve just completed my 30 minute workout and worked up a good sweat. Time to drink this!

 

It does not say shake! A shake without shaking. Okay then.

 

This poured out pretty darn thick. It smells of chocolate. No. I mean it. It really smells like chocolate. Like real chocolate.

 

It also has a tiny, tiny hint of that medicine taste smell to it, but I think that’s the milk-stuff in it. I don’t usually drink milk since I’m lactose intolerant. Don’t worry, I took a pill.

 

Let’s have a drink. I earned it!

 

Hm! Mmm!

 

This is really darn good! It tastes of chocolate milk! It is nice and creamy like you’d hope.

 

Then it kinda develops into that medicine taste that we all know from energy drinks. The after taste is still refreshing, but the medicine taste lingers like a bad cold.

 

You know, I thought this was gonna be a disaster. I thought Monster and milk was gonna make me puke, but this is pretty great. I would totally buy it if I was into working out more. I’m curious what the other flavours would taste like because this chocolate is really good.

 

Overall, I would say that the initial taste outweighs the bad after taste.

 

I also think that if I like this, maybe I would just buy Muscle Milk or whatever it is so I can outright avoid the medicine taste. Then again, I don’t know what that tastes like so there’s that.

 

Future drink reaction? I think so!

 

I’ll give this a new school Cocoa Puff out of Rad. They are chocolaty but don’t have the taste like they did back in the day.

