20151108_143750

 

Rad Blog!

 

I made a mistake last post and called this Baller Blend. It is, in fact, called Baller’s Blend. Oh well.

 

So, this looks to be a lot like the Mad Dog, but in red. I don’t really like this design as much as the purple, but it is still pretty catchy.

 

Do I get the street feel from this one more so than Mad Dog? Slightly. The name gives it more of that basketball feel, but I think the red is more street compared to purple. I don’t know why I feel this way, but that’s just the impression I get from it.

 

Let’s see if Monster is a bit more descriptive with this one. Mad Dog was pretty generic saying it was just punch. Maybe they’ll say this is strawberry. That would be my first guess.

Punch Monster is a new take on a classic.  It’s sweet like the punch you mixed yourself as a kid, but with a little carbonation for a smooth finish.

Don’t let the familiar taste fool you. Baller’s Blend is high performance fuel that’s optimized for the true baller. Packed with a full load of our Monster energy blend, Baller’s Blend will keep you going strong through the last round.

Baller’s Blend is a customized Monster formula inspired by DUB, the kings of customization.

-Source: Monster’s Website

 

Nope. Not even a little. “Last round” of what? Basketball? Don’t they play quarters? Is this supposed to be for boxers?

 

So, I suppose I should just hop to it then. Yeah, let’s check the facts. I’m pretty sure it won’t be too different from Mad Dog.

 

2 servings per can. I’m going with the whole can facts so we don’t have to do maths here. No one likes maths. Ah, ah ah! Hush you, maths people. We know you don’t like it.

 

210 calories. 0g total fat. 80mg sodium. 51g total carbs. 50g sugars. 0g protein. 200% Vitamins B2, B3, B6, B12. B2 is called Riboflavin. B3 is called Niacin.

 

Woah! Way, way different. Less calories. Waaaay less sodium. Less carbs. Less sugars. This is the healthier choice in drink for those who are worried.  This isn’t even “light” either. Huh. The sodium reduction is kinda alarming to me. Why is there so much of it in Mad Dog?

 

Ah! This looks to be cherry flavouried. I took a quick glance to the ingredients and saw “cherry.” I don’t mind this actually. Cherry Kool Aid is pretty good. If this is anything like Mad Dog, then it is gonna have a sorta generic Kool Aid taste.

Ingredients.

Carbonated water, suagr, glucose, apple juice concentrate, taurine, citric acid, panax ginseng extract, sodium citrate, pectin, caffeine, potassium sorbate, maltodextrin, sodium benzoate, natural flavors, mango puree, cranberry puree, cherry juice concentrate, banana puree, niacinamide (B3), sucralose, L-carnitine, L-tartrate, red 40, gum arabic, salt, inositol, D-glucurondlactone, guarana extract, pyridoxine hydrochloride (B6), ester gum, riboflavin (B2), blue 1, cyanocobalamin (B12).

 

That’s what I’m talking about, Monster! You got all sorts of fruits in this one. On paper, Baller’s Blend beats Mad Dog hands down.

 

So, maybe it won’t be cherry flavoured but rather a kind of actual fruit punch. We got cherry, cranberry, mango, and uh banana? Okay! Maybe a tropical taste? I’m kinda excited to see.

 

5% juice is at the top!

 

I failed to mention the warning on Mad Dog, but it is there. It is also here. Kids, nursing pregnant women, don’t drink this.

Mad Dog doesn’t have any percentage of juice at the top.

 

Let’s go. Time to be a balla.

 

This is very red. Oh yeah! RED 40! CHAS APPROVED! GO CRAZY!

 

Yeah. It is just red unlike Mad Dog which was kinda purple, kinda red.

 

Oh! I like this scent. It smells of actual fruit. I get the cherry scent the most.

 

Yeah, if I didn’t know any better, I might have thought this was Kool Aid. Maybe it is a bit fizzy, but it really does look like a “punch” drink.

 

Let’s have a taste.

 

Oh! Er…Uh.

Well, it doesn’t mask the medicine taste as well as Mad Dog, but I taste more fruit in this one. It isn’t as overwhelming with sweetness too. The after taste has a sweet taste, but no where as crazy as Mad Dog.

 

Fruity, yes. I get mostly cherry from it.

 

I will give it this. It does mask the medicine taste better than most energy drinks do. I mean, I can taste it, but it isn’t deterring me from wanting to drink it like others might (Hard Rock).

 

This isn’t so bad. It isn’t great either.

 

Which would I buy again? Mad Dog or this? I think Mad Dog. I enjoyed it slightly better. It masked the medicine taste. After sitting on the after taste for a few seconds, I have a cough medicine taste in my mouth and no one likes that. Yeah. No. I won’t recommend it. Ugh.

 

I’ll give this a decent first half performance to a shocking second half out of Rad. Making me like your flavour is a game of two halves. Ugh. The after taste is terrible.

 

