20151106_144847

 

Rad Blog.

 

After today’s existential crisis post, I wanted to cool off with a nice new drink. This is Monster with punch. What does this mean? Is it monster with fruit punch? Is it just a Monster that happens to punch you in the taste buds?

 

Either way, I found two of these at the store and I’m unsure if there are more in this line. I have bought Mad Dog and Baller Blend.

 

NOTE! I have just found out from the Monster official site that these are called “Punch Monster” like I saw it on the can. I immediately said “Naw, this is Monster Punch, can’t be Punch Monster. It is just an arrangement issue.” Nope. It is actually Punch Monster.

 

Punch it!

 

That’s my tagline, Monster. You can use it, but just send me some Rehab, okay?

 

I don’t know what Mad Dog is supposed to be. You can see on the can that it has a purple hue to it, so I’m guessing grape? Maybe?

 

I think this is the coolest Monster can I’ve seen. I like the orange claw mark thing and the purple around it compliments it. Is this some sort of sports beverage? I have a feeling this is like some basketball crossover. It just seems like it. The black between the logo and the purple has a leather look to it which is commonly seen on basketballs. The official site just says it is inspired by the street life. Basketball is kinda part of it, so… close enough? It does seem kinda street, though Mad Dog doesn’t jump out to me as super street. It sounds like a nickname some sports player has.

 

Even the site doesn’t really say what flavour it is other than “punch.” We’ll see in the ingredients then, I suppose.

 

I wonder if the description in the site is the same as the one on the back of the can? I’ll look. Yes it is. I’ll post it here for you.

 

Punch Monster is a new take on a classic.  It’s sweet like the punch you mixed yourself as a kid, but with a little carbonation for a smooth finish.

Mad Dog is the original Punch Monster inspired by the streets. Clean lines, killer punch flavor and packed with a full load of our signature Monster energy blend.

Mad Dog is a customized Monster formula inspired by DUB, the kings of customization.

-Source: Monster’s website

 

Hmm. A sweeter Monster? I can be down for that. Monster was already pretty sweet. If this dilutes that medicine taste even further, then we might have a contender for best energy drink.

 

You know, the “Punch” on the can has a Saints Row feel to it or at least I think it does.

 

So, should I go and take a look at the nutrition values and ingredients? I believe I should.

Serving size is 2 cans. They even provide the Facts per can. How nice!

I’m gonna just go for the entire can values.

 

230 calories. 0g total fat. 290mg sodium. 58g total carbs. 56g sugars. 0g protein. 200% Vitamin B2, B3, B6, and B12. B2 and B3 are listed as Riboflavin and Niacin respectively.

 

Ingredients!

Carbonated water, sugar, glucose, natural &artificial flavors, citric acid, taurine, sodium citrate, panax ginseng extract, potassium sorbate (preservative), caffeine, sodium benzoate (preservative), niacinamide (B3), sucralose, L-carnitine L-tartrate, salt, red 40, D-glucurondlactone, guarana extract, inositol, green tea extract, yerba mate extract, pyridoxine hydrochloride (B6), riboflavin (B2), blue 1, maltodextrin, cyanocobalamin (B12).

 

What in the world is yerba mate?!  Apparently it is used a lot in herbal teas. It also is pretty good for your health. Huh.

 

I’ve noticed that this monster has like no juice in it so therefore isn’t really a punch at all. This is more of an energy drink with herbal tea. Yerba mate and green tea are both in this. This is not a problem really.

 

I DO have a problem with it not having juice, though. Why call it “Punch” if you aren’t talking about juices. Are you talking about Kool-Aid, then? Even that, I think, had some sort of fruit extract in it. This is a complete toss-up on the flavour. It is Mad Dog. I hope it doesn’t taste like a dog.

 

All right, I’ll pour it out now.

 

Oh yeah, RED 40! CHAS APPROVED!

This is very, very purple. The aroma is so strong of just medicine and sugar. It isn’t really that pleasant.

 

Though, deep down I can kinda smell a generic Kool-Aid like scent. There’s hope yet!

 

I think the fruit it is going for is grape. I do, but it also smells of strawberry. Some kind of berry at least.

 

Okay, taste time.

 

Now that it has sat for a second, it smells more sweet than medicine and slightly more appealing.

 

Taste!

 

Hmm. Oh!

 

Well, the initial taste very acidic. I don’t taste the medicine at all really. Then this after taste of pure sweetness rushes in and lingers. It kinda does have that Kool-Aid vibe, but this tastes more like I put in a bag of sugar with it.

 

I suppose it tastes of grape, but not natural grape by any means. Maybe I’m just privileged in my grape drinks.

 

This is streets ahead of NOS Grape. 100% better if you’re looking for an energy drink with a grape flavouring.

 

I’ll give this a rebound slam dunk out of Rad. You didn’t make it the first time, but you still score. I like this enough. Will I buy it again? Maybe I’ll consider it. I’m looking forward to seeing if I like Baller Blend better.

 

Final thoughts? This is a Monster that tastes like carbonated grape Kool-Aid. If that sort of thing appeals to you, go for it!

