Rad Blog!

 

It has been a while since my last one of these, but I’m back with a familiar can. This is NOS, but in can form. This is their grape version in contrast to whatever was in their cool looking bottle I looked at a little while ago.

 

I think this is slightly smaller than the bottle I had. This wasn’t terribly expensive, but still it is a bit pricey for a drink. I got this for 2 bucks, but that was a sale price.

 

What can I say about this can? It is pretty darn boring. It says “NOS” and it is purple. That’s bloody it. No logos or adverts that say “Official Drink Of *insert person here*” It shows that whole “CMPLX6” thing like the bottle has.

 

May I be slightly critical? The grape is kinda small. If I was buying this NOS can and I didn’t know that purple meant grape, then I would say “what’s the difference?”

 

I usually like cans without a bunch of mumbo jumbo, but this seems a little too plain for me.

 

The back is slightly more interesting. It defines the CMPLX 6 and lists all the other ingredients in this drink.

 

Move on to the Nutrition Facts!

 

Serving size is 1 can. That’s kinda good considering cans this size are 2 servings, right?

 

210 calories. 0g total fat. 410mg sodium. 54g total carbs. 54g sugars. 0g protein. 200% Vitamins B 6 and 12. That’s pretty run of the mill.

 

I’d like to point out that this doesn’t have a lot of other things you’d see in energy drinks. All it lists is the B Vitamins. This has no A or C or anything else. For 2 bucks, is this enough to make it an energy drink? or does this just make it an expensive carbonated beverage? I think addicts would stick with Monster for this because it costs slightly more and probably has more energy stuff in it.

 

Chas, though, picks these for flavours! That’s what I go for anyway.

 

Here’s that warning that says “don’t drink this, kids and mothers.”

 

Please recycle.

 

Ingredients!

Carbonated water, high fructose corn syrup, citric acid, sodium citrate, natural and artificial flavors, sodium hexametaphosphate (preservative), taurine, caffeine, potassium sorbate (preservative), L-Theannie, sucralose, red 40, calcium disodium EDTA (preservative), Vitamin B6 (pyridoxine hydrochloride) blue 1, guarana, Vitamin B12 (cyanocoblamin).

 

Hmm. Not too hard to pronounce. Red 40! Chas approved! The tastiest of dyes.

 

Honestly, looking at this looks like it shouldn’t have a lot of kick to it. It absolutely has caffeine, but if you were buying this for the energy, what’s the difference between this 2 dollar drink and a 99 cent drink like Rip It? Flavour? We’ll just have to see about it!

 

Let’s take a look at this beverage.

 

Now that’s what I’m talking about! This is super purple! This can’s colour is exactly the same as the beverage. It actually smells of grape too, albeit the grapes going a little off. It smells slightly fermented maybe? Is this what fermented grapes smell like? I don’t know. I don’t drink wine. This is what I think wine would smell like. Obviously it isn’t alcoholic because it wouldn’t be sold where I bought it. New Jersey has pretty strict alcohol sales laws. In other states you can pick up your favourite brewski in the super market. That’s just absurd to me since I’m pretty sure that’s illegal here.

 

Off to the taste then. Come at me, purple NOS.

 

Oh. Oh. No.

 

Well, it has that signature NOS smooth taste, but it is quickly interrupted by an off-tasting grape flavour. The grape is just so ehh. I can taste some real grape flavouring, but the artificial taste overpowers it making this less enjoyable. The after taste isn’t too bad thankfully. The artificial flavouring comes in quick and leaves just as quickly. It does kinda leave a paralyzing tingle on the tongue. I don’t know what I think of that.

 

I’ll give this a broken row of cookies out of Rad. It kinda sucks, but it is still a cookie. The taste of this overall isn’t terrible but I would never go for this again.

