20151003_152711

 

Hey Rad Blog.

 

Sorry for this drink reaction. It is probably gonna be boring. I mean, this is Monster. This is probably what most people think of when someone says “energy drink.”

 

I have a good reason! It is true, I did write about Monster Rehab, but I felt like I needed to see if they were a direct improvement over the original Monster. This is what lead to me writing this post.

 

What can I say about Monster? Everyone drinks it. When my car wouldn’t start, the tow truck driver had like 10 empty cans of it in his truck. He even tried like 2 empty cans to see if there was anything left in it. Gildem has tried a Monster with rum (or something) and called it Bad Decision. It is a well known drink. I can leave it at that.

 

So, I haven’t ever had one before. I might be one of the only people around my age that hasn’t.

 

Let’s talk about this can, yeah? It is black. It has the little ripped thing. It is green. It says Monster. That’s it. The design is simple, but everyone knows what it is. It has the energy giving things running around the top of the can much like Rockstar did. They might even be owned by the same people. Shall I confirm that? Hold up.

 

 

Nope. Two different companies. Say, didn’t I say NOS was manufactured by Monster? Lemme look back at the post. I didn’t say it there, but I looked it up and it is manufactured by Monster Brands which I guess is linked to Monster. On their website it says Coco-Cola. So maybe. I don’t know. Full Throttle, another energy drink, was bought by Monster from Coco-Cola so did they like make NOS to stay in the market? I don’t know. Whatever! This is like Black Brier and Honningbrew all over again.

 

So, the back of the can has a little blurb like Monster seems to have on all their cans. It says it is a fierce drink with a smooth taste. I really hope that is the case. It also goes to list all the people who might like this from hipsters to anarchists. Yes. It says anarchists.

 

People like Monster so I don’t really fear this taste, but it is October and things are a bit spooky. This could very well be the worst tasting energy drink I’ve had yet. It could also be the best. Hmm.

 

So, shall I get into the whole nutrition facts? Might as well.

 

Oh yeah, the Queen says “why do you drink such crap?”

 

For the good of mankind! I drink it so you don’t have to!

 

It is interesting to note that Monster has “L-carnitine, taurine, and B Vitamins” listed on the top. Rockstar had something else.

 

2 servings in a can. Seems pretty standard. Thanks Monster for providing the nutrition facts per can too. I’m going to use that.

210 calories. 0g total fat. 370mg sodium. 54g total carbs. 54g sugars. 0g protein. 200% riboflavin. 200% niacin. 200% Vitamin B6 and B12.

 

So, according to this, Monster has less per can than Rockstar in riboflavin, but way more sodium. Monster has less sugars and total carbs too. Hmm. Less sugar means more medicine taste maybe.

 

Ingredients! Long one. These always tend to be.

 

Carbonated water, sugar, glucose, citric acid, natural flavors, taurine, sodium citrate, color added, panax ginseng extract, L-carnitine, L-tartrate, caffeine, sorbic acid, benzoic acid, niacinamide (B3), sucralose, salt, D-glucuronol actone, inositol, guarana extract, pyridoxine hydrochloride (B6), riboflavin (B2), maltodextrin, cyanocobalamin (B12).

 

Well, thanks Monster for telling me what these crazy sounding things are. I was taking the mick on cyanowhatever yesterday but now I know it is part of B12.

 

Sucralose! No! Gah. Okay. Hopefully it doesn’t show too much. It will, won’t it? I already have lost some faith in this. NOS and Rockstar both left out sucralose.

 

Well, let’s do it.

 

Well! It looks exactly like Rockstar. Both are amber and look like gasoline. They smell the same too. This aroma is like medicine smacking me in the face with more medicine.

 

Hmm. There might be a woody like scent to this too. It is odd, but it absolutely has some other kind of scent to it besides medicine. Death? Maybe!

 

Let’s sip. Oh boy.

 

Hmm.

 

Well, I do taste a bit of sucralose, but they weren’t lying about it being smooth. This is quite smooth. It doesn’t make me gag at medicine taste which really is a huge bravo to them. They even have that dyed tastebuds taste to it, but it way more apparent than the Rockstar version. Rockstar was way more medicine tasting than this. Dare I say, this is a bit sweet? Well, I mean it is sweet in terms of energy drinks.

 

Yeah, this isn’t that bad. I don’t think I’ll be like “Oh yes! Monster!” but I am not upset with it. The Rehab versions are better because the added flavour and tea, but the base Monster isn’t terrible by itself. I can see how it is so popular.

 

I’ll give this a Frankenstein’s Monster out of Rad. Spooky, but not as spooky as a skeleton.

