20151002_162816

 

Rad Blog!

 

Here’s a now and then post.

 

Back in the day, Young’un Chas bought a Rockstar drink because it looked really cool. He then tried it and was taken aback! What was this flavour?! It was so bad to him!

 

Bakc then, I was a mini writer then. I had this email newsletter I called the CharleZton Times. I wrote about my Rockstar drink there.

 

I still have it!

 

ldrad

 

Well, back then I never cared for the medicine taste then so…maybe I should heed Young’un Chas’ reaction. I mean, he obviously hated it…

 

Maybe this is going to be like the Hard Rock drink. I mean, they both have the word “rock” in it. Well, by that logic then Rocky Balboa is a flying squirrel.

 

Has my taste changed since back then? I wonder. I recall when I was younger the taste of it killing my tongue. The can changed since then, but not by much. The star is skewed a little to look edgy. I’m a rock star. I don’t play by the effin’ rules, man. I put my stars in a slightly skewed fashion! Does it say drink like a rock star so I can party like one still? Er…not really.

 

This says “Rockstar Energy Drink is designed for those who lead active lifestyles – from athletes to rock stars.” Not as catchy as the old slogan. Active lifestyles? I stand while I play Skyrim or any game for that matter. That makes me more active than maybe 75% of people that play video games regularly.

 

Yeah, this looks like a pretty standard energy drink. It has all the stuff like B Vitamins, taurine, caffeine, and I suppose guarana. That is probably the most questionable ingredient since I think some energy drinks don’t include it.

 

I have a question to the energy drink makers. If you guys all have the same stuff to energize athletes and people, why are there so many of you? Rockstar, NOS, Monster, Red Bull. I’d go with Monster and NOS since their cans are bigger than the others.

 

I suppose there’s slight change of tastes and THAT, my Rad Friends, is where I come in and tell you which is the best.

 

Rockstar certainly has a cool can. It is all Vegas-y. It makes me feel cool. I think this is more of a tattoo artist drink. Monster is for gamers and motocross riders. Red Bull is for people that like to be branded and NOS is for street racing. That is my unofficial classification.

 

So, let’s break it down. 2 servings! Dag yo.

130 calories. 0g total fat. 35mg sodium. 32g total carbs. 31g sugars. 0g protein.

 

200% Riboflavin. 100% Niacin. 100% Vitamin B6. 100% Vitamin B12. 100% Pantothenic Acid.

 

This isn’t as shockingly high as others I think. Didn’t Rip It have like 400% something? Maybe that was the Hard Rock. I can’t remember.

 

Ingredients!

Long one.

 

Carbonated water, sucrose, glucose, citric acid, taurine, sodium citrate, guarana seed extract, caffeine, caramel color, natural and artificial flavors, glucuronolactone, sorbic acid, benzoic acid, pantothenic acid, niacinanide, inositol, L-carnitine, milk thistle extract, panax ginsneg root extract, riboflavin, pyridoxine hydrochloride, cyanocobalamin.

 

Well, it was doing well until glucironolactone. I was like “this looks kinda natural.”

The last ingredient. Da heck is that? Oh. It is a reaction of B Vitamins. Okay! Wait. It isn’t natural to humans but animals can convert it to something. So! You really could feed this to your dog!

 

So. This is pretty unhealthy. Yeah. I wouldn’t recommend it as a casual drink just by looking at it. I will, however, drink it for you.

 

So, I expect it to be amber in colour since it has “caramel colour” in the ingredients.

 

Let’s pour it. Do not shake.

 

Oh yes! The warning is there. Don’t drink this kids or nursing women. 160 MG per can of caffeine. Hmm.

 

Made in the USA! Patriots! Drink this! Hmm. The warning for kids and nursing women is really small. Usually they box these things.

 

Very…amber.

 

My word. The scent is absolutely terrible. This reminds me of Hard Rock. It is so potent. It smells like medicine. It really does. Oh boy. Maybe I should have listened to young Chas. Oh man. That is a kick. This would absolutely wake you up if you were tired.

 

Okay. Wish me luck. Time to sip.

 

Oh. Oh. Ehhhg.

 

Okay. So it isn’t as bad as the original Hard Rock, but it is pretty bad. The initial taste completely kills my taste buds with like citrus, but then a swarm of medicine flavour comes in and lingers. There’s this strange savory taste to it that sits there and it is pretty good honestly. Like, it isn’t an after taste, but rather it like sits in your saliva. I can only describe it as dying your spit with citrus. That part makes it instantly better than original Hard Rock, but my word the taste and the aroma is not really pleasing.

 

This isn’t very good, but Young’un Chas never tried an energy drink before. This was his first and now I’m looking back. I rated it a 2.5…outa 10 probably

 

I’d rate it more like a 4.5. It is bad, but I think it beats Hard Rock. It doesn’t get to NOS’ level of taste. Nice try, Rockstar.

 

I’ll give you a Bret Michaels out of Rad. He won The Apprentice.

POST EDIT!
This looks like gasoline. I’m drinking probably gasoline.

