Heyo Rad Blog.

 

This is sorta one of my drink reaction things except this was more of an experience.

 

If you didn’t know. I was out on loan to one of the departments here and now my loan spell is basically complete. They had a Keurig machine here and since I was going to be working there for a little while, I figured I’d invest in some tea. I bought this sampler by Stash Tea on Amazon because I was curious to see what kinds of tea they would include.

When I got the pack, I saw a bunch of interesting, unique-sounding blends as well as some common ones. I had a cup after lunch to last me the rest of the day and I would then grade them.

 

Off-topic side note: Seriously, Spotify? You just played an advert with cats shrieking to promote your Premium service so we wouldn’t have to hear them any more? Hmmp. Clever but still annoying!

 

Back to the tea.

 

I currently have the last of my 12 here in my mug-thing. I suppose I will be doing a on-the-spot grading for that one.

 

Let’s start!

 

Chai Green Tea

Green tea, cinamon, ginger root, allspice, cinnamon flavor, clove, clove bud oil, cardamom oil.

I’m not 100% sure if I would throw Stash in the organic tea group, but I would say they belong in the premium blend group with companies like Tazo and whatever else coffee houses sell. I can’t really say because I’ve only been to two, not including Starbucks. They both sold Stash.

 

Anyhow! The chai green tea was quite good. When I think of chai tea, it is usually spicy and condensed with milk. This was a little different because Stash combined the spice of chai with the light, earth taste of green tea. It actually worked really, really well. I think I’d drink more green tea if it was blended with chai. I could absolutely see the differences in the tea and the taste just contrasted so well.

A

 

Chai Spice Tea

Blended black teas, cinnamon, ginger root, allspice, cinnamon flavor, clove bud oil, cardamom oil.

I had this after I had the chai green tea and it made me miss the blend. This wasn’t a bad taste, though. The aroma was very spicy as well as the taste, but it wasn’t anything really crazy spectacular. This might have been good with milk or something, but I don’t usually take hot tea with anything. I would opt for the Chai Green over the regular.

C+

 

Chamomile Herbal Tea

Chamomile flowers.

This is what I have tried before by Stash. I got this once at a coffee house and thought the bagged version was very good. This is no different. Stash makes a really good chamomile. I don’t know what it is, but obviously there isn’t anything in it besides the flower. Wherever they grow it or how they care for it is effective.

A

 

Earl Grey Tea

Blended black teas, bergamot extract.

I’m a fan of Earl Grey tea. I’ve tried many different companies’ blends, and Stash is decent. I liked the tea taste. The bergamot was there, but I’ve had better. Not a bad tea for sitting.

B

 

English Breakfast Tea

Blended black teas.

This was probably the most “meh” of every tea in the sampler both by sound and taste. This is exactly what you’d expect tea to taste like so there’s no surprises here. You need to like Stash’s tea in order to be a huge fan of it. Fortuently for Stash, I think their tea is decent enough not to want to toss it. Still, the texture was good and the aroma was okay. I’ve honestly had better.

C+

 

Jasmine Blossom Green Tea

Jasmine green tea.

This, too, was not too memorable. I think jasmine has a very light taste and is lost if you don’t try to really go for it. Some companies do a very good job bringing the scent out which helps the taste. Stash didn’t really hit that mark. This tasted and smelled like green tea to me.

C+

 

Lemon Ginger Herbal Tea

Ginger root, lemongrass, lemon flavor, hibiscus, citric acid, safflower, ginger flavor.

This was, so far, my absolute favourite of the sampler. It was one of the few interesting blends in the sampler and it made me want to buy more of it. I like lemon in my tea, like most people. This really has a lemon kick to it but it also has a great spice compliment. It was unlike any kind of tea I ever had. I really enjoyed the lemongrass taste. Even the aroma was great. I could absolutely smell spice with a citrus undertone. My pick out of the 12.

A+

 

Moroccan Mint Green Tea

Green tea, spearmint, lemongrass, peppermint.

I never really drink mint tea, and this sounded interesting. I suppose this is a popular blend in Morocco. I rather liked it. Mint, to me, isn’t a great flavour. I don’t typically go for mint anything. I prefer baking soda tasting toothpaste and in gum I pick mint but with a bubble gum taste or a sweetness to it. This was a good idea to blend mint with green tea. Green tea alone, to me, is too light and I don’t usually pick it. Combining mint with green tea made both taste much better. I know mint tea is good for digestion and calming nerves, so I think I’ll go with a Moroccan mint tea for that.

B

 

Peppermint Herbal Tea

Peppermint leaves.

This was, well, minty. It is straight-up mint. Like I said before, I don’t usually pick mint. Stash has good tasting mint, though. The aroma was strong and so was the taste. If  mint tea is your thing, I’d say give em a try.

B-

 

Pomegranate Raspberry Green Tea

Green tea, hibiscus, orange peel, chamomile, pomegranate flavor, raspberry flavor, citric acid, Matcha.

This was a huge blend, and honestly, it was too busy for me. They suggest it is pomegranate and raspberry, but I mostly got a green tea taste with citrus. It smelled very floral. I didn’t really get it. It wasn’t bad, it just was way too busy for me. I think if this took out the green tea and chamomile, it might taste a little less busy.

B-

 

Premium Green Tea

Blended green tea.

This is exactly what it state. This is green tea. I think it was a pretty good tasting green tea. I normally wouldn’t pick green tea, but Stash did a good job. The flavour is more apparent than other companies. It deserves its “premium” label I think.

B

 

Mango Passionfruit Herbal Tea

Rosehips, orange peel, lemongrass, hibiscus, safflower, mango flavor, citric acid, passionfruit flavor, licorice powder.

This is my live reaction. This blend looks very, very busy. The aroma was fairly strong in mango. It was pretty good honestly. I look at the ingredients and say “Huh. Liquorice with orange peel and lemongrass with mango? What in the world?” Let’s have a taste.

Interesting. Oh. The hibiscus is very apparent in this one actually. I know it was listed a lot on the other teas, but I think it only provided a hint. This one is very apparent. I don’t really see passionfruit in this, but the mango is a surprising undertone to the hibiscus. I can taste lemongrass too which gets rid of that scratchy feel hibiscus usually leaves as an after-taste.

 

Hmm. It isn’t bad. It won’t rock Lemon Ginger from the top.

 

B-

 

Overall, this was a good sampler. I can recommend Stash Tea over all. They have very rich taste. I’ll give them that!

 

POST EDIT: This was out of Keurig Cups. I wonder if I’d feel the same with bagged teas.

