20150731_154702

 

Rad Blog!

 

Two drinks today, but one wasn’t by me! I have officially made my Queen and author for the blog so she can write stuff if she wants to, but I don’t really know if she will do anything other than drink reaction things.

 

Anyhow! Here it is! NOS…or is it Nos?

 

This is an energy drink, as you can see by the bottle, and I first heard of this when I was in high school. I had a friend who swore by this drink. I just always saw how cool the bottle looked with the cap. I am most likely keeping this bottle in my room after I’m done with it.

 

Lately, I could only find this in a large can, which makes me go “pfft!” but I found the cool bottle at Five Below for $2.99 which is pretty standard for energy drinks. This is a pretty large bottle too, compared to Red Bull’s tiny baby cans. I know that NOS comes in pretty large AriZona-esque cans too. I think they are slightly smaller, but if memory serves me correctly, they are about the same size as the standard Monster cans. I guess it is just taste preference.

 

Honestly, I’m pretty sure this is gonna taste terribly because it is a standard energy drink with no bells and whistles to boost the taste. I really just wanted to get this for the bottle, which is a great selling point if that’s the only reason why I wanted to get this.

 

NOS is usually used in car racing, right? I think NOS is short for Nitrous Oxide. Yep. You’d probably seen this in any street racing video game. I think Need For Speed actually had a NOS tie-in in one of the games. Anyhow, if you didn’t think NOS was about racing, on the side of the label is a dude in a racing suit. You can kinda see it in the picture.

 

If you didn’t know already, the bottle sorta resembles the actual cans you’d put in a car. That’s still pretty freaking cool.

 

This thing is probably really unhealthy for you. I’m pretty sure about it, but I don’t care. I ate a plateful of Oreos with Nutella last night.

 

Let’s look a little more at this label. I wish it was more plain. Hmm. It has CMPLX6 for “enhanced mental focus + high performance energy.” Okay. What in the world is CMPLX6? Complex 6? Sounds like a boy band or an assassin group. Ah! The racer on the side is Ricky Stenhouse Jr. Okay then.

There’s our good friend the warning label that says if you are a kid or a pregnant woman to avoid this like the plague. Woah! This is pretty extensive too. “Should be limited to 400 mg per day [caffeine]… This product has 220 mg per package. Too much caffeine may cause nervousness, irritability, sleeplessness, and occasionally, rapid heartbeat.” Oh boy!

 

Ingredients? Okay.

Carbonated water, high fructose corn syrup, citric acid, sodium citrate, sodium hexametaphosphate, natural flavors, taurine, caffeine, gum acacia, potassium sorbate, glycerol ester of rosin, L-theanine, sucralose, yellow 5, calcium disodium EDTA, Vitamin B6, yellow 6, guarana, Vitamin B12.

 

Huh. This is pretty tame for an energy drink. I kinda see most of this stuff in the other things I drink. Maybe it will just taste like a more caffeinated Mountain Dew or something. It is yellow, as you can see in the ingredients, or at least you’d think it is. I can’t tell because the bottle is blue.

 

Nutrition Facts!

12 fl oz. That’s it? I thought it was more. Hmm. Okay. I was expecting 16. 2 servings per container.

 

160 calories. Jeeze!

0g total fat. 310 mg sodium. Wow. 41 g total carbs. 41 g sugars. 0 g protein. 150% Vitamins B6 and B12. That’s a lot. I feel like that’s lower than other energy drinks though. I need to look back at them. This is, exactly how I thought, not healthy for you.

 

Hmm. It seems like this drink equalizes the Vitamin B’s when others hype up one over the other.

 

Let’s get to looking at this thing! Yeah!!

 

Oh..If I looked at the bottle, Cmplx 6 is described as caffeine, taurine, guarana, B6, B12, and L-theanne. That’s basically all the energy giving stuff.

 

Oh! This is what I imagine the goo in Ninja Turtles would look like!

 

Very yellow and pretty fizzy. Decent signs so far.

 

Huh. Smells fruity. Yeah! A bit like pineapple actually.

 

Let’s taste.

 

Huh uh. It isn’t very pungent like a lot of other energy drinks are. The medicine taste is apparent, but there’s like a tropical burst there that makes it easier to drink. Dare I say, it is kinda smooth? Yeah. It actually isn’t that bad! Red Bull is very potent with the medicine taste while this somehow masks it with flavour. Maybe it is because there’s less energy stuff in this? Maybe it is because there’s more like caffeine taste over whatever else they use to boost energy with that I don’t really have an acquired taste for yet.

 

This is okay. I’m actually kinda sold on this. Thanks for having a cool bottle, NOS. You make a fair drink too.

 

I’m satisfied with this surprisingly. NOS is on par with the Rojo Tea Monster for me. I think NOS also has flavoured version too. I will have to give them a look.

 

I’ll give this extra fries for free out of Rad.

 

I’m happy with this. I can see why that high school friend swore by this.

 

Wait a sec! This is 22 fl oz! I guess the 12 fl oz is 1 serving. Oops.

