In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious

 

Rad Blogington.

 

So, doing another prompt writing thing and this one asks what I do when I get great news. I’m not gonna use their hyperbole but you get the idea.

 

MY problem is, I haven’t had much good news in a long, long time. Usually, when I get news it is usually “Chas, your student loan bill payment went up 20 bucks” or “Villa lost again and will probably be relegated.” You’ll have to excuse me on my lack of reaction because I only know bad stuff.

 

I guess  the closest I get to good news is when I get neutral news or not fully developed news. No news is no news. If I hear nothing, I assume nothing.

 

When I’m given news like “You have 3 more assignments this semester” I say, hmm okay. I’m currently failing this class, but I have 3 more shots to get a C. That’s how I play it.

 

Is it good news? It could be. It means I have the opportunity to turn it around.

 

Another thing I usually am told is “We’d like to interview you for ______ job.” Now, some may take that as good news. Me, I take it as an opportunity to prepare and research or figure out what I’d do if I get the job.

 

This has never materialized, but I go through the interview process. I’m pretty sure I’m not getting hired because people think I’m incompetent.

 

I don’t think I’ve ever had straight up no bad things possible ever good news. If that happened, I probably wouldn’t believe it.

That’s all I have to say about that. People might be optimistic, but I just can’t see it.

