20150323_144919

 

Heyo Rad Blog.

 

So, I found this little thing at the grocery store and wanted to give the Mountain Dew Kickstart another shot. This is a newish flavour and it looks more like energy water than an energy juice. I don’t really know, but I do know that it DOES have coconut water in it which kinda concerns me since I typically hate coconut.

 

My brother got the other new flavour and he enjoyed it. He hates coconut as well, and it didn’t really bother him. I am willing to give it a shot. The can kinda caught my eye honestly. it is so….yellow. This drink is confused as what it wants to be. Pineapple? No. Orange? No, we have that already. Mango? People like mango. Let’s put em together and call it Tropical. NO! Let’s list em! It’s a bloody mouthful.

 

If I hate this, I won’t feel bad since it only cost me a dollar. It probably is a bit smaller than the regular size can, but I’m fine with that. I don’t wanna spend 3 bucks on a drink I might not like.

 

Looking more at the can, it looks a lot like the orange one I got not too long ago. It is very bright and hard to read the yellow print on white and the white print on yellow. I’m gonna attempt it though.

 

Ingredients: water, high fructose corn syrup, white grape juice concentrate, coconut water concentrate, citric acid, sodium hexametaphosphate, natural flavor, potassium sorbate, ascorbic acid (Vitamin C), gum arabic, caffeine, acesulfame potassium, sucralose, nacimiadie, glycerol, ester of rosin, calcium disodium, edta, calcium pantothenate, sucralose acetate isobutyrate, yellow 6, pyridoxine hydrochloride (Vitamin B6).

 

So, no mango, orange, or pineapple? Cool. So they are already liars. Grape juice and coconut water with a bunch of crap I can’t pronounce. This doesn’t look good already. Does it say shake well? Nope! Just gonna open it then. After I look at nutritional facts.

 

It isn’t terrible in the fats, sugars, carbs, and sodium department. It has 75% Vitamin C which if they used real juice, then it would be 100% I think. 60 % both Nacin and Vitamin B6. Fair B Vitamins. and 2 other things I don’t feel like spelling but they aren’t super high. This is gonna be more like a water I suppose then. Obviously it isn’t gonna be an energy juice since there’s hardly any in it. I guess I’m disappointed that they list these three flavours and there’s none of it to be found, well, in plain English anyway. Let’s have an open and take a look.

 

Well, I will give them one thing. It certainly smells tropical. I got a smell of bananas mostly. It could be ah int of mango for smell. I’ve been drinking mango stuff lately. It looks like a light yellow liquid. It almost reminds me of lemonade with its look. The smell is not repulsive. That’s pretty good. Taste? Taste.

 

Uh.

 

Well…

It is better than the other Kickstart I had. The medicine taste is pretty out there. It is so much out there that the coconut taste is kind of a welcome. It kinda dulls it, but then I remember I hate coconut and then it stays on my taste buds forever. Blech.

 

The fruit flavour is only sorta there, but it feels forced. It tastes like white grape juice with coconut water, but then like your mum sneaks that gross medicine so you get better from mono in it. It isn’t pleasant. Yeah, not really enjoying this, but I didn’t think I would. The coconut is an after taste and it isn’t like a nice bellhop holding the door for you. My tongue actually feels a bit numb from it, if I’m honest.

 

The best part is the first sip where I taste the juice. It then goes away very quickly. The medicine taste goes away quicker because the coconut overwhelms it. I don’t hate it as much as I could.

 

After this one, I think I would like to try the other Kickstart drinks because I think the worst are out of the way. I’ll give it another go, Mountain Dew.

 

I give it a Paratroopa out of Rad.

