In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Plead the Fifth.”

 

Doing a prompt. Why am I doing so many of these lately? I guess it is because I actually miss writing to a question or statement. Anyhow, let’s do this.

 

 

The question on this, which is a few days old but no matter, is about what question do I hate answering.

 

I think my least favourite question anyone can ask me is “What do you plan on doing with that degree?” If I knew the answer to that, I’d be doing it.

 

I can’t really fault them though. They don’t know me. They don’t know my situation. They don’t read this blog and all the posts about me struggling to figure out what in the world I’m going to do.

 

Another question I hate, which usually follows my answer to that question is “There’s gotta be something you can do. Did you ever think about getting your teaching cert?” Yes I did. Yes. I DID. I don’t wanna teach. I’d be rotten.

 

I do like to hear what people have as advice for me though. It is nice of them to give me some insight. Sadly, it is the same story for everyone. It goes like this:

Oh yeah, my *insert relative or relative’s acquaintance here* has a degree in English and he/she ended up working at *insert place that has nothing to do with an English degree here*

 

OR

he/she ended up going back to grad school to get *insert more useful degree here* and now works as a *insert underemployed job here*.

 

Another question I dislike is “are you okay?” No! I’m never okay. I’m usually grumpy. Sometimes, rarely, I am pretty excited about something and therefore in a better mood. Usually I am in a pretty mediocre mood. I also can’t really fault people that don’t know me since they have no idea how I am or the people that are just asking to make conversation.

This post reminds me of the days of old when the Rad Blog had heart.

I just asked like 1000 questions here. Those are rhetorical questions, but thank you for your support. 

I can’t see this post getting to 1000 words so I’m gonna stop here. That’s my post. I really wanted to write something today.

 

