Hey all. I got a gift today at work. This was given to me at work today. Don’t worry, it is still sealed so it probably isn’t poisoned. It has a “Paid” sticker on the back so someone bought it. I know it came from the local super market.

 

Okay, enough about crazy poison Chas conspiracies and let’s get down to business. This is a Goya product. I’ve had a pretty good success rate with Goya products. They’ve been pretty tasty (minus one) so I had high hopes for this. They sell em in cans rather than bottles. They all come in strange fruits I never heard of, but this one here is actually…common. No matter! Mango is good!

 

This is a néctar, so I’m not quite sure if it is a juice or a soda or neither. It DOES state to shake well on the label so it is probably not soda. I’m expecting a juice. What is néctar. Let’s head over to my friend Bing Translator to see if it translates to anything other than nectar in English. I know jugo is juice in Spanish, but maybe this is another way to say it. Nope. It is just nectar. I’ll look up what a nectar-like drink is supposed to taste like.

According to Goya’s website, the néctars and juices are grouped together. Maybe this is called néctar because it is more herbal? Let’s take a look at the ingredients.

Water, Mango Pulp, High Fructose Corn Syrup, Corn Syrup, Food Starch-Modified, Citric Acid, Ascorbic Acid (Vitamin C)

 

So, basically it is water with mango pulp and a lot of sweeteners. Cool! I was hoping for something sweet.

So, let’s take a look at some nutrition facts?

 

It has 180 calories which isn’t too bad. 15% carbs which is kinda why I thought it was a soda. 40% Vitamin A and 100% Vitamin C. This is pretty good for Vitamin C. I’d drink this every once in a while if I get tired of orange juice.

 

Let’s get to the pouring.

So at first pour, it came out very thick, much like orange juice. It smells really fruity, much like a mango. They got it right! Woo!

 

It kinda looks like orange juice honestly. It has the same colour and thickness. Let’s give it a try.

 

Hmm!

 

This is kinda tasty! It reminds me of orange juice from concentrate where you gotta shake it up first or it tastes like water. This is actually really good and I can kinda tell that it is actual fruit rather than fake stuff. I don’t think there was a “natural flavours” on the ingredients, was there?

I’m glad I got this. I wanna get the other néctars now. I probably should have shook this up a bit more, but I know better now.

