Hey Rad Blog! Happy 700th post day. I was gonna save this for Surge’s reaction/review thing, but since it is sold out all the time, I have this cool sounding thing for you.

 

I was craving the sweet taste of soda ever since Surge came out. To satisfy this, I wanted to go to 7-Eleven to get a Soda Shaq, but saw this instead. I don’t know how long this has been out, but it sounded really interesting to me so I got it. I hope this tastes good because I passed up Soda Shaq for this, and you KNOW how much I like those.

 

20140917_141357

 

 

So this is an Arizona drink. If we know anything about Arizona, they usually make iced tea. In my Soda Shaq reviews, I found they made pretty decent sodas too.

 

Can we talk about the can? Yes. I kinda like the art here. It gives me an urban kinda feel. It is kinda in a graffiti style, isn’t it? Purple is one of my favourite colours, but I usually pair it with yellow. Pairing it with lime green is pretty rad. It says it is “A Brooklyn Original.” I never heard of this combo of grape soda and lime soda, but I guess it is popular in Brooklyn. I wouldn’t know since I don’t really know the culture of Brooklyn nor have I ever been there. The top of the can is pretty cool too. It has a green cap opener thing.

 

This is also a pretty good price. I got it for 99 cents, much like the Soda Shaq. It seems to be the same size can as Soda Shaq. Lemme confirm that, since I still have the cans. Yes it is the same size. This is 23.5 FL OZ or 695 mL.

 

Let’s get to the boring stuff. What’s the nutrition facts and ingredients? Well, curious reader, I’m happy to list it here for you. Let’s talk nutrition. This contains 10% juice! Cool!

70 Calories per serving, which this can is 3. 18g of carbs. 17g of sugar. 25% Vitamin C. That’s not too bad actually.

 

Ingredients:

Carbonated filtered water, high fructose corn syrup, pear juice from concentrate, red grape juice from concentrate, citric acid, lime juice from concentrate, honey, natural flavor, ascorbic acid (Vitamin C), sucralose acesulfame potassium.

 

I can pronounce most of the things. That last one though, I have no idea what that is. Should I research it? Okay! It is delaying my soda though….

Wikipedia says.

Acesulfame potassium (ace-SUHL-faym) is a calorie-free sugar substitute (artificial sweetener)… In chemical structure, acesulfame potassium is the potassium salt of 6-methyl-1,2,3-oxathiazine-4(3H)-one 2,2-dioxide. It is a white crystalline powder with molecular formula C4H4KNO4S and a molecular weight of 201.24 g/mol.

and

As with other artificial sweeteners, concern exists over the safety of acesulfame potassium. However, the United States Food and Drug Administration (FDA) has approved its general use. Critics say acesulfame potassium has not been studied adequately and may be carcinogenic, although these claims have been dismissed by the FDA and equivalent authorities in the European Union.

SOURCE

 

So some people don’t think very highly of it. Oh well, I couldn’t care less. I’ve already threw caution to the wind with caffeine lately with me wanting to get Surge and drinking a bit of Cola after years of not drinking it. Besides, don’t most people hate high fructose corn syrup? Oh well! Let’s get to the good stuff!

 

Time to open it and pour it.

 

This was very, very red looking. It looks a lot like grape juice and also smells like it. I think it said it was less of a soda and more of a sparkling beverage. I still kinda consider it a soda. The look of it reminds me of the sparkling cider we get at New Years sometimes. That might be what this is like with a hint of lime. So far, I kinda like it. Let’s have a taste.

 

Hmm! This isn’t bad! With this taste, I’m sure it is less a soda and more of a sparkling cider kinda thing. It is more of a juice with seltzer water. I like it! There is a clear grape flavour at first sip, but the after taste is clearly lime. I think the balance is pretty good. Yes, I do like this. When I drink more of this, I kinda taste the lime and grape together, but I still get grape first then lime after.

 

I’ll give it to Arizona. It is a great alternative when I’m in the mood for something bubbly but not in the mood for soda.

 

I’ll give it my Chas Rad approval. Good on ya Arizona.

