20140515_160236_resized

 

What do we have here? A Starbucks drink? Chas doesn’t drink coffee! Well, that’s true but how can there be a strawberry lemonade coffee? I suppose this falls under the “green” coffee category because that’s what it says at the bottom of the can. This thing was free with a manufacturers coupon because I probably wouldn’t buy it normally. There were 3 flavours at my super market. One was sold out (blueberry), there was only one of this strawberry lemonade, and there were about 3 orange mango ones left. I decided to go with strawberry lemonade because I rather like lemonade and orange mango didn’t really appeal to me then.

 

First off, I know this can has seen better days. It was the last of the kind and it isn’t open anywhere so what the can looks like doesn’t matter. I’m gonna pour this in a glass anyway. Second, I’m not 100% sure what this costs. I think it is 1.50 USD but I could be wrong.

 

Let’s take a look at this. I’m not a huge coffee person or a Starbucks person so this should be interesting.

One thing I’d like to point out (and you can probably read it) is that the can says it is made with real fruit juice from concentrate. That’s pretty good I think. Concentrate means something like evaporated water leaves behind a thick substance and they re-add water? Something along those lines. It is real juice then. How much? Let’s turn to the nutrition facts. 25%?! That’s REALLY good. Most of these drinks that say they use real fruit juice usually have 10% at the most. This is a whopping 25%.

 

Moving on to something more interesting on the can it says it has B vitamins and ginseng. That’s what made me consider this drink. I usually skip over caffeinated beverages as I don’t like caffeine. Ginseng on the other hand is something I don’t mind.

 

It is a 12 oz can which is kinda small for what the probable price is. 90 calories isn’t too much either, but then again it is kinda small.

 

Ingredients: Carbonated water, fruit juice from concentrate (white grape, apple, lemon, strawberry), sugar, erythritol, natural flavours, green coffee bean extract, citric acid, vegetable juice (colour), rebaudioside-a (stevia leaf extract), panax ginseng root powder extract, ascorbic acid (vitamin C), niacinamide (vitamin B3), calcium D-pantothenate (vitamin B5), pyridoxine hydrochloride (vitamine b6).

 

That’s a lot of things I can’t pronounce. My conclusion: even though it simplifies it in parentheses, I don’t trust it.

 

The nutrition facts aren’t too scary. 25% B6, 20% C, and other stuff that sounds kinda important. It isn’t a terrible concoction, but I would not suggest drinking this regularly.

 

Now let’s move on to the important part: visual, taste, and smell.

 

It smells pretty good actually. Very fruity and kinda like lemonade. I’m rather impressed. Let’s pour it in this glass to see it and get a second smell. It really does smell like juice. It kinda fizzed a little when I poured it, but that’s probably the carbonated water.

 

The liquid is a dark red look. It isn’t very interesting, but it doesn’t really excite me. I’d probably want this in the winter rather than a summer. Lucky for me, it is a really gloomy day so that’ll count, right?

 

Taste time.

 

Hmm. Interesting flavour. It is almost like a flat soda, but not. It doesn’t taste like an energy drink because I’m not tasting that gross vitamin flavour. I actually get a little juice taste, but it is too much like an energy drink flavour to be considered a carbonated juice.  I need a second taste. Hmm. I do taste a little bit of that gross vitamin flavour, but it isn’t overwhelming me. It isn’t awful though. No, not at all. I don’t like it much, but I don’t hate it. I’ll tell you one thing though: it does NOT taste like strawberry lemonade. It tastes more like what I’d expect a fruit punch energy drink to taste like. Would I try the other ones? Maybe. I don’t really see me paying money for this. It is a good drink for free. Starbucks did a decent job I guess, but I’m still not a fan. I don’t taste the coffee bean which is a major plus for this drink. I get mostly fruity and vitaminy taste.

 

Final verdict: Meh. Maybe half a Rad.

